Three CityU professors certified as IEEE Fellows

Shiona Mackenzie


At the Government House on 27 June, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) presented prestigious Fellow Grade certificates to three City University of Hong Kong professors:


Dr Paul Chu of Physics and Materials Science Department, Dr Ron Hui and Dr Luk Kwai-man of the Electronic Engineering Department. Nine IEEE Hong Kong members altogether were honored to become Fellows in 2003, at the ceremony officiated by Mr Ho Suen-wai, JP, Permanent Secretary for Commerce, Industry & Technology (Information Technology & Broadcasting).


IEEE elects less than 0.1% of its membership to Fellow Grade annually, in recognition of their distinctive research and development achievements. CityU now has eight IEEE Fellows in total, seven in the Department of Electronic Engineering and one in the Department of Physics and Materials Science. This year, Dr Chu was elected for his remarkable contributions to the understanding of plasma implantation and deposition, while Dr Hui and Dr Luk were elected for equally meritorious contributions to, respectively, power electronic circuits and modeling techniques, and the development of wideband microstrip patch antennas and dielectric resonator antennas. The other six IEEE Fellows from Hong Kong are academics from the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong Polytechnic University and Hong Kong University.


Distinguished guests in attendance at the ceremony included Mr Peter PT Cheung, JP, Secretary-General of the University Grants Committee; Mr CD Tam, MBE, JP, CEO of the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks; Mr Anthony S K Wong Director-General of the Office of Telecommunications Authority; Mr Roger Lai, Head of EMSD of HKSAR; Ir. Dr Raymond Ho, F C of Engineering, and Mr C K Sin, F C of Information Technology of the Legislative Council.


IEEE is a global non-profit, technical professional association of more than 377,000 individual members among 150 countries. 




Back to top