New Convocation Standing Committee pledges commitment

Terry Lam

Share this article 

The 6th Standing Committee and guests join the inauguration ceremony.
The 6th Standing Committee and guests join the inauguration ceremony.


The Sixth Standing Committee of the City University of Hong Kong (CityU) Convocation pledged to unite alumni in support of the University’s development at its inauguration ceremony on 30 May.

Speaking at the ceremony, Mr Lester Garson Huang, CityU Council Chairman, said he was confident that the new Standing Committee would accomplish its mission.

“Convocation will encourage alumni to feel proud of being a member of CityU, connecting them with the University and attracting their support,” he said.

The Standing Committee members take their oaths.
The Standing Committee members take their oaths.


Professor Way Kuo, CityU President, thanked the new Standing Committee members for their time and effort. He wished them every success under the leadership of Mr Robert Lui Chi-wang, Convocation Chairman.

The new Standing Committee has introduced the theme “Wellness” for its new term. The aim is to promote mental, physical and spiritual health in the alumni community through activities and services, Mr Lui stressed.

In attendance at the ceremony were CityU Council members Dr Peter Ho Ka-nam, a distinguished CityU alumnus, Mr Dominic Pang Yat-ting and Mr Cao Zhaowenbo; Professor Matthew Lee Kwok-on, Vice-President (Development & External Relations); Mr Sunny Lee Wai-kwong, Vice-President (Administration); Professor Paul Lam Kwan-sing, Chief-of-Staff; Ms Kathy Chan Yin-ling, Associate Vice-President (Development & Alumni Relations); Miss Antonia Yeung Yu-hung, Director of Alumni Relations; and Mr Hectar Pun Hei, another distinguished CityU alumnus.

The Convocation, a statutory organisation formed under the CityU Ordinance on 1 January 2007, creates a significant link between the University and its growing alumni network. Members include CityU graduates, Emeritus Professors and honorary award recipients.


Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations Office

Back to top