Honours awarded to members of CityU community

Karen Cheng

Share this article 

​The Chief Executive of Hong Kong SAR has accorded awards to several members of the City University of Hong Kong (CityU) community in the 2012 Honours List in recognition of their significant contributions to Hong Kong or for their dedicated public and community service.
Dr Peter Woo Kwong-ching
, a recipient of an Honorary Doctor of Business Administration from CityU in 2004, has been awarded the Grand Bauhinia Medal (GBM) for his long and distinguished public service, particularly his significant contributions to trade promotion and the medical and health services. As Chairman of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council, Dr Woo successfully led the Council's management through major reforms aimed at improving accountability and transparency, and at improving how the Council responds to the needs of enterprises of all sizes. During his tenure as Chairman of the Hospital Authority, he demonstrated excellent leadership in transforming its management culture and structure, and reorganising and rationalising clinical services to the current cluster-based model, which has served to improve patient access.
Council member Mr Yeung Ka-sing has been awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star (GBS) for his distinguished public and community service, particularly his contributions in helping the Hong Kong Housing Society provide quality and affordable housing to meet the needs of the changing community. Mr Yeung facilitated the repositioning of the Society as a specialised housing provider, introducing retirement housing under the innovative model of integrated service and lease-for-life arrangement.
Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee
, Chair Professor of the Department of Biology and Chemistry, has been awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star (BBS) for her valuable contributions to promoting scientific research and education, as well as environmental conservation.
Another Council member, Ms Maggie Chan Man-ki, has been awarded the Medal of Honour (MH) for her outstanding and dedicated community service in the Wong Tai Sin district.
Yip Siu-keung and Leung Ki-ho, a current-year graduate and Year 2 student, respectively, in the Department of Asian and International Studies, received the Chief Executive’s Commendation for Community Service.


Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations Office

Back to top