CityU to bestow honorary fellowships on five distinguished persons

Cathy Lau & Eva Choy

Share this article 

(From left) Mr David Chow Tak-fung,  Mr Benjamin Kwok Chan-yiu,  Dr Law Hing-chung,  Mr James Liu Ying-yin, and 
Mr Ben Wong Chung-mat. ​

City University of Hong Kong (CityU) will confer the title of Honorary Fellow on five distinguished persons in recognition of their significant contributions to the development of, and service to, the University and the community. 

They are Mr David Chow Tak-fungMr Benjamin Kwok Chan-yiuDr Law Hing-chungMr James Liu Ying-yin, and Mr Ben Wong Chung-matMH, JP. The Honorary Fellow Presentation Ceremony will be held in September. ​

Mr David Chow Tak-fung, founder and Managing Director of Easy Power Limited, is a successful entrepreneur who has made substantial contributions to philanthropy and education. Currently the President of the Hong Kong Optical Manufacturers Association, he is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Grace Charity Foundation Limited. He was awarded an Honorary Fellowship by The Professional Validation Council of Hong Kong Industries in 2008 in appreciation of his extraordinary contributions to the optics industry. Mr Chow is highly supportive of CityU. In addition to serving as a member of the Board of Governors of the CityU Foundation, he is also the Honorary Patron of the Foundation. Mr Chow has donated to set up Mr and Mrs David T F Chow Bursary & Chow Tak Fung Chair Professorship. Besides, he sponsored and participated in the Life Mentor Scheme organised by the Department of Applied Social Sciences. In 2013, a lecture theatre at CityU was named Mr & Mrs David T F Chow Lecture Theatre in acknowledgement of his generous support.

Mr Benjamin Kwok Chan-yiu, the co-founder and Managing Director of Kwonnie Electrical Products Ltd., has more than 30 years of experience in the electrical manufacturing industry and is an active participant in public service. In addition to being the Honorary President of the Hong Kong Young Industrialists Council, he is the Honorary Secretary of the Foundation under the Council, and the Honorary President of the Hong Kong Electrical Appliance Industries Association. After earning his EMBA degree from CityU in 2007, he has been participating in alumni activities enthusiastically to boost support for the University. He is a founding member of CityU’s Eminence Society, an Honorary Vice-President of the CityU Foundation, a member of the Foundation’s Alumni Advancement Committee, and an Honorary Member of CityU’s Alumni Giving Club. Over the years, Mr Kwok has made several generous donations to support the University’s research activities, and has set up an internship scholarship. In 2014, a lecture theatre was named after Mr Kwok in recognition of his generous support.

Dr Law Hing-chung, founding Principal of Pui Kiu College and former Principal of Pui Kiu Middle School, has extensive experience in school education. Awarded a PhD from the Institute of Education of the University of London, he has worked as a secondary school teacher, a subject officer at the former Hong Kong Examination Authority, a senior policy analyst at the New South Wales Department of Education in Australia, a principal curriculum officer at the Curriculum Development Institute of former Education Department in Hong Kong, and the Head of Research in the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority. Actively participating in public services, Dr Law had been the Chairman of the Hong Kong Direct Subsidy Scheme Schools Council (DSSSC). He is currently the Honorary External Affairs Secretary of DSSSC, and a member of the Research and Advocacy Committee of The Boys’ and Girls’ Clubs Association of Hong Kong. A staunch supporter of CityU, Dr Law has been a member of the Court and Council. He has also served as a member of committees under CityU Council, such as the Community Relations Committee and the Committee on Statutes. 

Mr James Liu Ying-yin, Managing Director of Mars Securities Company Limited and Action Win Industries Limited, is a distinguished business leader. Mr Liu is a Chartered Secretary (AGIA, ACIS), Chartered Marketer (MCIM), and a Fellow of the Hong Kong Securities and Investment Institute (FHKSI). After obtaining an EMBA degree from CityU in 2001, he has supported his alma mater in various ways. He is a founding life member of the CityU Eminence Society, a member of the University’s Court, a member of Board of Governors and an Honorary Vice-President of the CityU Foundation, and a member of the Foundation’s Alumni Advancement Committee. He is also the Honorary President of the CityU Industrial and Business Leaders Circle, and has been appointed as an Adjunct Professor of CityU’s College of Business since 2011. He has made donations over the years to support CityU. In 2012, “James Liu Multi-Purpose Room” was named in acknowledgement of his generous support towards the University. 

Mr Ben Wong Chung-mat, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Wong’s International Holdings Limited, is an established entrepreneurial industrialist. Since joining the family business in the 1970s, Mr Wong has greatly promoted the development of advanced technology in Hong Kong, and made major contributions to society. He had served as a member of the Committee on Trust Fund for SARS​, a member of the Board of the Applied Science and Technology Research Institute, a member of the Social Welfare Advisory Committee, Chairman of Yan Chai Hospital Advisory Board, and a member of the 13th Chengdu Municipal Committee of Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference. In 2009, Mr Wong was appointed Justice of the Peace by the HKSAR Government for his outstanding community service and his contribution to the work of Yan Chai Hospital.  He was the Treasurer of Lingnan University from 2010 to 2012. Mr Wong is also an enthusiastic donor to local universities. In recognition of the generous support of Wong’s International Holdings Limited to CityU, the Covered Terrace on the fourth floor of the Amenities Building was named after the Group as “Wong’s International Terrace” in 2016.​​​​​


Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations Office

Back to top