New appointments and re-appointments on Council

Cathy Choi

Share this article 

​Two outstanding members of the business and professional communities have been appointed by the Chief Executive of Hong Kong SAR to the Council of City University of Hong Kong (CityU) with effect from 1 January 2016 to 31 December 2018.

Mr Thomas Cheung Tsun-yung, MH, Chairman of Chinagrowth Group Ltd, HKBC Media Ltd, Innoaccelerator Ltd, Kingmaker.Space Ltd, Evergreen Solar Inc, Innoutvation Limited, and HKBC Mall Limited, obtained a master’s degree in engineering from Cornell University. Mr Cheung was the recipient of the Innovative Entrepreneur of the Year 2000 and obtained the Top Ten Business Maker Award in 2000 and the Hong Kong Small and Medium Enterprise Award 2000.

Mr Cheung is not only an outstanding entrepreneur and angel investor, but also an active participant in social and public service. He is currently a member of the Jiangxi Provincial Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC), Vice-President of Hong Kong CPPCC Youth Association, a member of the China Overseas Friendship Association, a founding member of Energy Saving and Environmental Concern Alliance, and Honorary Adviser of The Y. Elites Association Limited. Mr Cheung was awarded the Medal of Honour (MH) in 2015 by the Government for his meritorious public and community service.

Dr Peter Ho Ka-nam
, Managing Director of Techworld Industries Ltd and Chairman of Million Rainbow Investments Ltd, obtained doctorate and master’s degrees in engineering management from CityU. Dr Ho has made significant contributions to his alma mater and also to the manufacturing and engineering industries. Dr Ho was bestowed the title of Honorary Fellow of CityU and awarded the 3rd Distinguished Alumni of CityU in appreciation of his contributions.

Dr Ho is devoted to helping CityU establish closer relationships with the business and industrial sectors and enriching the development of CityU. He was the Founding Chairman of the CityU Eminence Society, from 2010 to 2013, and the Honorary President of the CityU Foundation. He has also made generous donations to the University to support the Industrial Attachment Scheme, student scholarships and the development of the Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies. To recognise Dr Ho’s staunch support, University Lecture Theatres 10 and 12 were named the “Peter Ho Lecture Theatre” and “Mr & Mrs Ho Chun Hung Lecture Theatre” respectively after him and his parents.

In addition, Mr Joseph Pang Yuk-wing, BBS, JP has been reappointed as Treasurer, while Mr Andrew Fan Ka-fai and Mr Herbert Tsoi Hak-kong, BBS, JP have been reappointed as members of the Council for another term of three years.

Mr Clovis Lau Koong-yep, the Chairman of the Convocation, will serve on the Council for another term of two years from 1 January 2016. Ms Xu Qian, the elected postgraduate student member, will serve for a term of one year, with effect from 15 November 2015. The incumbent member, Dr Fung Wai-wah and the new member, Dr John Tse Wing-ling were elected by staff to the Council for a term of three years, effective from 1 January 2016.


Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations Office

Back to top