Honours List 2021 salutes CityU community

Share this article 

Top row (from left) Mr Martin Lee Ka-shing, Ir Dr the Honourable Lo Wai-kwok, Mr Stephen Yau How-boa.
Bottom row (from left) Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung, Mr Chan Wai-ming, Mr Brendon Tong Yeuk-fung, Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung.


More than 20 members of the City University of Hong Kong (CityU) community have been named on the 2021 HKSAR Honours List for their contributions to Hong Kong and their dedicated public and community service.

CityU Council member Mr Martin Lee Ka-shing has been awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star (GBS) in recognition of his significant contributions to championing charity work for the betterment of the community. Over the years, Mr Lee has been enthusiastic in helping the vulnerable in society and pursuing education and scientific research, youth development, as well as cultural and sports projects. He has provided strong support in rolling out the Community Housing Scheme and echoed the Government’s Transitional Housing Scheme to provide transitional social housing for grassroots families in poor living environment with urgent housing needs.

Ir Dr the Honourable Lo Wai-kwok, Honorary Fellow and former Council member at CityU, has also been awarded the GBS, in recognition of his valuable contributions to the construction industry, as well as his active participation in volunteer work and various advisory and statutory bodies. Being Chairman of the Legislative Council Panel on Development and Deputy Chairman of the Public Works Sub-committee, he provides constructive advice and leads committees to assess and approve public works projects in a timely manner. He has also contributed greatly to spearheading efforts in gaining the support of the engineering sector and construction industry on related issues.

CityU alumnus Mr Stephen Yau How-boa has been awarded the GBS, too, for his significant contributions to social welfare, town planning and sports development in Hong Kong. For the past 35 years, Mr Yau has led the only non-governmental cross-boundary and inter-country social services organisation in Hong Kong to provide an extensive range of social services to a wide spectrum of individuals and families in the community. He is also full of enthusiasm in promoting the development of football and training for young footballers in Hong Kong.

Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung, CityU Council member, has been awarded the Silver Bauhinia Star on account of his remarkable contributions to public service over the years, ranging from security, broadcasting, education to youth development. Dr Chan’s devoted service in serving the Independent Police Complaints Council and various security-related advisory and statutory bodies has earned him recognition among stakeholders. During his tenure as Chairman of the Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK) Board of Advisors, Dr Chan led the Board to render constructive and invaluable advice on the services of RTHK in meeting its public purposes and mission.

Another alumnus Mr Chan Wai-ming has been awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star (BBS) for his long-term contributions to Sham Shui Po District. Over the years, he has expended considerable efforts in promoting the well-being and improving the living condition of district residents.

CityU Foundation member Mr Brendon Tong Yeuk-fung has been awarded the BBS in recognition of his dedicated service in the Central and Western District, in particular for youth development and sports promotion.

Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung, CityU Foundation member, has been awarded the BBS in recognition of his significant contributions to fostering communication between Government departments and the food trade.

Mr Ho Shi-sum, alumnus, has been awarded the Hong Kong Immigration Service Medal for Meritorious Service for his exemplary and devoted service in the Immigration Department for over 33 years.

Eight alumni received Medals of Honour:

  • Dr Jason Chan Kai-yue for his dedicated and valuable contributions to the development of the information technology and property management industry, particularly for the Property Management Services Authority.
  • Mr Vincent Ho Kui-yip for his dedicated and valuable community service in promoting the proper use and maintenance of drainage pipes in buildings to curb the spread of the virus during the Covid-19 epidemic.
  • Mr Dick Kwok Ngok-chung for his dedicated and valuable contributions to the property management industry, particularly his professional advice on the promotion of effective building management.
  • Ms Kawina Lee Yuk-pui for her dedicated and valuable community service in Kowloon City District, particularly her contributions in leading The Lok Sin Tong Benevolent Society Kowloon in carrying out charity work.
  • Mr Leung Kwok-kee for his outstanding and dedicated service at the Labour Officer grade. He is now a Chief Labour Officer and has served in the Government for over 30 years.
  • Professor Sin Kuen-fung for his achievements in developing special education (SE), particularly in enhancing SE training for teachers.
  • Dr Wong Kwok-yan, former CityU Court member, for his dedicated and valuable community service in Wong Tai Sin District, particularly for providing legal advice to district residents.
  • Mr Yip Man-pan for his dedicated and valuable community service in Tuen Mun District, particularly for community building and the promotion of well-being of the residents.     

The Chief Executive’s Commendation for Community Service was awarded to Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung, CityU Honorary Fellow, former Council and Court member, Distinguished Alumni awardee; Mr Ng Choi-wah, CityU Foundation member; and alumni Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting, Professor Mok Ka-ho, and Ms Tang Sau-ling.

Alumnus Mr Dick Wong Chung-chun, received the Chief Executive’s Commendation for Government/Public Service.

In addition, four alumni Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu, Mr Lam Cheung-chi, the Honourable Lau Kwok-fan and Ms Wong Shu-ming have been appointed Justices of the Peace. Dr Sunny Chai is currently a member of the CityU Court.


Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations Office

Back to top