2018 Honours List spotlights CityU community


six persons
(From Left) Professor Rosie Young Tse-tse, Dr Henry Fong Yun-wah, Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun, Dr The Hon Ann Chiang Lai-wan, Mr Lester Garson Huang and Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu.


Several members of the City University of Hong Kong (CityU) community have been named on the 2018 Honours List in recognition of their significant contributions to Hong Kong or for their dedicated public and community service.

Professor Rosie Young Tse-tse, a recipient of an Honorary Doctor of Science from CityU in 2006, has been awarded the Grand Bauhinia Medal for her exemplary work in education and the medical field. Professor Young is a world-renowned educationist and researcher in medicine and one of the world’s top authorities on endocrinology. Her research on diabetes mellitus, carbohydrate metabolism in liver disease, thyrotoxicosis and thyrotoxic periodic paralysis has led to improved treatment that has helped to save lives and reduce the suffering of patients.

Dr Henry Fong Yun-wah, a recipient of an Honorary Doctor of Letters from CityU in 2000, has been awarded Gold Bauhinia Star (GBS) for his long and distinguished community service, particularly his dedication and significant contributions to hundreds of community projects covering education, medical services, elderly care and child care services and community building on the mainland, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan.

Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun, Honorary Fellow of CityU and former Council member, has been awarded the GBS in recognition of his dedicated and distinguished public and community service, in particular his significant contributions to the higher education sector in his capacity as the Chairman of the University Grants Committee.

Dr The Hon Ann Chiang Lai-wan, CityU Honorary Fellow, former Council and Court member, has been awarded the Silver Bauhinia Star (SBS) for her distinguished public and community service over the past three decades, particularly her active and extensive participation in public affairs.

Mr Lester Garson Huang, current Chairman of the CityU Council, has been awarded the SBS in recognition of his distinguished and dedicated public and community service. He has served extensively on various boards and committees over the years. 

CityU alumnus Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu has been awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star for his outstanding contributions in promoting innovation and technology development in Hong Kong.

Honorary Fellow, external Court member and former Council member Mr Rex Auyeung Pak-kuen and three CityU alumni Mr Chan Pok-chi, Mr Cheng Ka-ho and Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee, have been appointed Justices of the Peace.

Alumni Mr Ricky Leung Wai-kay and Mr Bobby Liu Kam-hing both received the Chief Executive’s Commendation for Community Service.


Contact Information

Communications and Institutional Research Office

Back to top