Young writers honoured with City Literary Award

Christina Wu

Share this article 

Five students and an alumnus of City University of Hong Kong (CityU) took home prizes at the 8th City Literary Award presentation ceremony on 13 May.
Two CityU students came top in their categories, one received a 1st runner-up, and three got merit awards.
The theme for this year’s competition, which received 249 entries for four categories, was “Environmental Humanity”.
“The winners will be new blood to the literary arenas in Hong Kong and Macau,” said Professor Cheng Pei-kai, Director of the Chinese Civilisation Centre, CityU. “It is very important that young people should write more to help enhance the status of literature in the whole region.”
In the competition, the writers worked to narrate, feel, think and comment on humanity and environmental protection through different kinds of literary genres.
The overall winners were:
  • Prose category — Lu Difeier, a master’s degree student of the Department of Chinese, Translation and Linguistics, CityU;
  • Short story category — Leung Lee-chi, a student from Holy Trinity College;
  • Poetry category — Wong On-ki, an associate degree student of the Division of Languages and Communications, Community College of CityU;
  • Art and cultural criticism — Li Bingyan, a PhD student from the Department of Chinese, University of Macau.
The judges were renowned writers and scholars: Professor Huang Ziping, Ms Zhang YiheMs Han Liang-louMr Li RuiMrs Shi Shu-chingMr Lawrence Pun Kwok-lingProfessor Jiau Tung, Mr Yip FaiProfessor Cheng Chou-yuMr Perry Lam Pui-liMr Xu Zhiyuan and Mr Liu Wai-tong.
The City Literary Award was one of the major events at the annual City Literary Festival. Both were organised by CityU’s Cultural and Sports Committee, the Chinese Civilisation Centre, and the Department of Chinese, Translation and Linguistics; jointly organised by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council, the Chinese Language Education Section of the Curriculum Development Institute at the Education Bureau, and Macao Foundation. It was also co-organised by the Putonghua Channel of the Radio Television of Hong Kong, Ming Pao Monthly, and Commercial Press Limited. Hang Seng Bank was the sponsor.
The full list of all the prize recipients has been uploaded to the website


Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations Office

Back to top