New committee marks milestone in alumni relations

Sharon Ng


The inauguration ceremony of CityU’s first Standing Committee of the Convocation was held on 7 April, marking a milestone in the development of alumni relations at CityU.

Speaking at the ceremony, Professor Richard Ho Yan-ki, Acting President of CityU, said, “CityU is the third university in the territory, after University of Hong Kong and The Chinese University of Hong Kong, to establish a Convocation. Currently, for every five local university graduates, there is one from CityU. I am sure the Convocation will serve to further involve former students in the continued development of the University.” He extended special thanks for the hard work of Mr Andrew Fan Ka-fai, Chairman of the Provisional Standing Committee, and all committee members. He also expressed gratitude to the support provided by alumni leaders who have not only supported the advancement of the University, but also set a model example to the younger students in caring for their alma mater.


Honourable guests at the ceremony included Mr Vincent Chow Wing-shing and Mr Yeung Ka-shing, members of the Council; Professor David Tong Shuk-yin, Deputy President; Dr Ellen Ko Law Yin-lan, Vice-President (Administration); Professor Lilian Vrijmoed Kwan Lee-ping, Dean of Student Learning; Professor Martin John Painter, Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences; Professor Chan Chi-ho, Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering; and Mr Gabriel Chan Sai-man, Director of Finance Office.


After receiving the seal from Mr Weeky Wong Sau-lik, Vice Chairman of the Provisional Standing Committee, Mr Patrick Lee Chung-wah, Chairman of the first Standing Committee of the Convocation, said he would strive to forge communication links among the alumni and between alumni and the University, in a bid to realise the mission of the Convocation to “consolidate the strengths of the alumni and support the development of the alma mater.”


Mr Lee gratefully thanked the council, Professor Ho and the Provisional Standing Committee for their enthusiastic efforts and support in setting up the Convocation. “Today’s inauguration ceremony holds special meaning for me, as it signifies that as of now, the Standing Committee in the coming two years will organise events that unite alumni and support the development of the Convocation and the University.”


Mr Lee introduced each member of the first Standing Committee of the Convocation and led all members to take oath, vowing to make use of their individual strengths to support the University and serve society with sincerity and dedication.


CityU has groomed many outstanding graduates in the past two decades, with alumni living and working in around 30 countries and regions. The Convocation invited alumni leaders from around the world to attend the ceremony and highlighted the vastness of the alumni network on a world map showing where its members now worked and resided.


After the ceremony, alumni visited the Alumni Civility Hall, Student Residence Hall 3, and enjoyed a high-table dinner.


The establishment of the Convocation as a statutory organisation was approved by the Council in December 2006, with the objective of recognising the contribution of alumni over the years and acting as a formal link between the University and alumni.


With the blessing of the Council, the Development and Alumni Relations Office invited 20 experienced and enthusiastic alumni leaders and formed the Organising Committee of the Convocation at the end of 2005. It then began drafting the constitution and meeting rules and performing other preparatory work ahead of setting up the Convocation. The Convocation was officially established on 1 January 2007 and the inauguration ceremony of the Provisional Standing Committee was held on 13 March 2007.


Membership List of First Standing Committee of Convocation




Mr Patrick Lee Chung-wah


Mrs Stella Lee Li Wai-king

Mr Will Ma Wai-kit

Mr Joseph Tsoi Wing-leung

Dr Bryan Wong Siu-fai

Immediate Past Chairman

Mr Andrew Fan Ka-fai


Ms Agnes Chan

Mr Kelvin Chan Ka-wang

Mr Teddy Chiu Chi-kit

Mr Brian Chui Kwok-on

Ms Joy Leung Sik-yan

Ms Billie Christine Lo

Ms Miyuki Lo Mei-suet

Mr Locto Tang

Mr Tong Kar-wai


Ms Kathy Chan Yin-ling



Contact Information

Communications and Institutional Research Office

Back to top