The Council of City University of Hong Kong Appoints An Independent Committee


The Council of City University of Hong Kong today announced the appointment of an Independent Committee led by the Honourable Audrey Eu Yuet-mee, SC, JP, to review the recent events in the School of Law.

Other members of the Committee include Mr David Sun, Chairman of Assurance & Advisory Business Services, Ernst & Young; Mr Vincent Chow Wing-shing, JP, a lay Council member; and two staff representatives namely Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung of Department of Public and Social Administration and Dr Charles Li of Department of Economics and Finance. The President of CityU Students’ Union might be invited to attend the meetings.

The Independent Committee is charged with the following terms of reference:

1.      To investigate the "flaws" and related issues in the evaluation process as identified by the Appeal Committee;

2.      To investigate the veracity of allegations, arising from the recent events involving the School of Law, as well as any relevant background information;

3.      To advise the Council on any other pertinent issues which the Committee may wish to draw to the attention of the Council; and

4.      To make such recommendation to the Council as the Committee may deem fit.

Council Chairman Mr Norman Leung reiterated that the Independent Committee is entirely independent in carrying out the review and it is directly answerable to the Council.

Brief biography of the members of the Independent Committee (in pdf format)




Contact Information

Communications and Institutional Research Office

Back to top