Forum on Clean Energy and Nuclear Safety — 10 Years after Fukushima

Share this article 

Clean energy and nuclear safety are the twin drivers behind an exciting online forum to be held on the 10th anniversary of the Fukushima accident, which occurred in March 2011. 

Co-hosted by City University of Hong Kong, National Tsing Hua University, Seoul National University, and Tokyo Institute of Technology, this unique e-forum on environment sustainability brings together 38 world-renowned scholars, industry leaders and government nuclear safety regulators. 

The “Forum on Clean Energy and Nuclear Safety — 10 Years after Fukushima” is scheduled for March 10, 2021 from 3:00 pm to 11:20 pm (Hong Kong Time). The forum will start with Professor Way Kuo, President of City University of Hong Kong, introducing the idea of “Rainbow Energy” for sustainability. It is expected that 2,500 professional people worldwide will attend the Forum.

The background is the urgent need to avoid catastrophic climate change. The 2015 Paris Agreement (COP21) sets a target of limiting global warming to no more than 2°C higher than pre-industrial levels. Ambitious goals for reaching carbon neutrality by 2050 will depend on technological innovations and selections in low-carbon energy.

After reviewing the Fukushima crisis, world-renowned experts will attend the forum to brainstorm ideas on innovative technologies and safe nuclear power. Two streams are arranged: 1) clean energy, including renewable energy generation, storage including new batteries and hydrogen fuel, and utilization such as smart energy management systems and energy saving applications; and 2) nuclear safety, including lessons learned from three major accidents, evolutionary technologies for safer nuclear power, and the future generation of nuclear energy.

Plenary lectures on the synergies between renewables and next-generation nuclear power will be delivered by four world-leading energy and sustainability authorities:

  • Dr Bruce Cheng, Founder of Delta Electronics, a world-leader in power conversion and energy infrastructure, and a pioneer in sustainability, having hosted an official event at COP21 on Delta’s green building endeavors.
  • Professor M. Stanley Whittingham of State University of New York, Binghamton, the 2019 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry for the development of lithium-ion batteries for mobile phones and electric vehicles.
  • Professor James E. Hansen, a pioneer in environmental change; former Director of the NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies; Adjunct Professor at The Earth Institute, Columbia University; awardee of Sophie Prize and Tang Laureate in Sustainability.
  • Professor George E. Apostolakis of MIT, an expert in the theory and practice of probabilistic risk assessment; former Commissioner of the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and now Head of Nuclear Risk Research Center in Japan.

Media enquiries: Helen Mok, Communications and Public Relations Office (Tel: 3442 6827 or 9859 3321)


Back to top