POL students debate politics with by-election candidates

Mr Tam Wai-fung, Senior Research Assistant, Department of Public Policy


POL students debate politics with by-election candidates

Local politicians who ran in the LegCo by-election for New Territories East were invited to address students at City University of Hong Kong (CityU) during a forum held by the Department of Public Policy (POL) on 19 February. 

The election was held on 28 February.

The forum was moderated by Mr Joseph Tse Chi-fung, a Visiting Fellow in POL and a former presenter for RTHK’s flagship TV current affairs programme City Forum.

During the talks, students had the opportunity to interact with candidates and apply their knowledge to analyse real-life political development.

All candidates but one attended. They introduced their platforms and answered questions. The topics discussed ranged from the role of the media in an election campaign and the governance of the HKSAR government to the recent Mong Kok riot over the Chinese New Year period.   

Mr Edward Leung Tin-kei, Hong Kong Indigenous candidate, said he was open to radical means to achieve self-autonomy for Hong Kong.

Mr Alvin Yeung Ngok-kiu, Civic Party candidate, emphasised the principle of non-violence, insisting that institutional methods such as filibustering in LegCo were better alternatives.

Third Side’s Mr Wong Sing-chi, independent candidates Ms Christine Fong Kwok-shanMr Lau Chi-shing and Mr Albert Leung Sze-ho revealed their reservations about violent measures, too, stating their preference for moderate means to resolving socio-political issues.  

Catherine Hui Tsz-ching, a Year 2 POL student, said that the forum had enhanced her understanding of the complex relationship between the media and politics.

Monika Horinkova, an exchange student taking the course “Politics and Media” in POL, said the forum had been a precious learning opportunity since overseas students seldom had the chance to meet local politicians in Hong Kong. 


Contact Information

Communications and Institutional Research Office

Back to top