CityU scientists join Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong as founding members

Michelle Leung

Share this article 

Three leading scientists at City University of Hong Kong (CityU) have joined the new Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong (the Academy) as founding members.
They are Professor Way Kuo, CityU President and University Distinguished Professor; Professor Philippe G. Ciarlet, University Distinguished Professor; and Professor Jean-Marie Lehn, Honorary Doctor of Science of CityU.
All three are also Senior Fellows of the newly established Institute for Advanced Study at CityU.
The inauguration ceremony for the Academy was held on 5 December at Government House.
The inauguration ceremony was officiated by Professor Wan Gang, Vice Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference and Minister of Science and Technology; the Honourable CY Leung, The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong SAR; Professor Bai Chun-li, President of Chinese Academy of Sciences and Professor Lap-Chee Tsui, President of the Academy. Renowned international academicians representing counterpart academies from the US, UK, France, Europe and Taiwan also attended the ceremony.
The Academy, which has 27 founding members, will promote the development of science and technology in Hong Kong, and raise the city’s profile as a centre of scientific excellence. It will also advance the teaching of science and technology in the city and to inform the public about issues pertaining to science and technology.
Scientists who have made distinguished contributions to the progress of science and technology in Hong Kong are eligible for membership to the Academy. Membership is for life and election to the Academy represents the highest academic honour in the field of science and technology that Hong Kong can bestow.
Professor Kuo is renowned for his work in designing the reliability of electronics systems and nuclear energy, and has made breakthroughs in nano-reliability research. He is a Member of the US National Academy of Engineering and Academia Sinica in Taiwan; and a Foreign Member of Chinese Academy of Engineering and Russian Academy of Engineering.
Professor Ciarlet is well-known for his work in the mathematical analysis of the finite element method, the mathematical theory of elasticity, plates, and shells, and applications of differential geometry. He is a Member of the French Academy of Sciences, French Academy of Technologies, Academia Europaea and Chinese Academy of Sciences, among others.
Professor Lehn shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1987 for his studies on the chemical basis of “molecular recognition” (i.e. the way in which a receptor molecule recognises and selectively binds a substrate), which also plays a fundamental role in biological processes. He is a member of many academies and institutions, including the French Academy of Sciences.


Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations Office

Back to top