The CityU (Amendment) Bill 2006 receives the green light

Catherine Ng


The City University of Hong Kong (Amendment) Bill modifying the composition of the Council of City University of Hong Kong (CityU) was passed by the Legislative Council on 14 June 2007. The Bill reduces the membership of the Council from its present maximum of 37 to 23 members. The new composition comprises the following:

15 external members

The President

The Deputy President

Two staff members elected by all staff

One staff member nominated by the Senate

The Chairman of Convocation

The President of the Students’ Union

One postgraduate student elected by postgraduate students

Of the 15 external members, seven are appointed by the Chief Executive and eight are appointed by the Chief Executive on the recommendation of the Council.

Changes to the composition arose from recommendations from the Review Committee on University Governance and Management (Review Committee), which was established by the Council in response to a recommendation in the Sutherland Report. The Review Committee was of the view that the present Council was too large a body if it was to fulfill its role of setting the mission and the strategic direction of the University. The Review Committee reported to the Council in November 2003 and it has therefore taken some considerable time for the changes to be agreed upon and enacted. The Bills Committee which scrutinized the Bill met on four occasions resulting in some changes to the original proposals in the Bill. These changes were agreed by the Council. They involved adding three additional members to the number recommended by the Review Committee. The three additions comprised an additional staff member elected by all staff, the Chairman of the Convocation and a representative from the postgraduate student body. The latter will be elected by postgraduate students.

The new Council composition will be effective from 22 June 2007.


CityU excels in professional education and applied research.



Contact Information

Communications and Institutional Research Office

Back to top