Honorary degrees announced

Michael Woloschuk

Share this article 

CityU has announced that it will be awarding honorary degrees to a community service leader, an environmental scientist, and a renowned scholar at the University's 17th Congregation on 13 November.

The recipients of the honorary doctorates are: Dr William Mong Man-wai, Chairman and Senior Managing Director of Shun Hing Group, Professor Qu Geping, an internationally celebrated environmental scientist, and Dr Myles Brand, the President of Indiana University. The degrees are being conferred in recognition of the three's contribution to knowledge, the development of the university, and dedication to the well-being of society.

Dr Mong Man-wai, a successful businessman and dedicated community service leader, has spent his life contributing to the advancement of education and social services. He established the Shun Hing Education and Charity Fund in 1984. Since then, the Fund has donated more than HK$200 million towards projects that benefit education, healthcare, recreation, sports, and environmental protection.  


Professor Qu Geping is a seminal figure in the development of China's environmental protection policies, laws, management, research institutions, education, and popular awareness. A member of the Ninth National People's Congress (NPC) Standing Committee and Chairman of the Ninth NPC Environmental Protection and Resources Conservation Committee, Professor Qu has devoted his energies to creating policies that promote both environmental protection and economic development.

 Dr Myles Brand, a scholar, philosopher and educator, is President of Indiana University and Chairman of the Big Ten Council of Presidents/Chancellors. Since assuming the presidency in 1994, Dr Brand has launched a series of reforms that has seen IndianaUniversity become a national leader in information technology. He is a dedicated proponent of graduate and professional education, a strong advocate for multi-cultural diversity, and committed to the pursuit of excellence.


 City University to Honour Three Distinguished Persons at 17th Congregation



Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations Office

Back to top