Three distinguished leaders to receive honorary CityU doctoral degrees

Yvonne Lee


City University of Hong Kong (CityU) will confer honorary doctoral degrees on Professor David D. Ho, Mr Raymond Or Ching-fai, SBS, JP and Mr Yu Kwok-chun, GBS, SBS, JP in recognition of their significant contributions to education and the well-being of society. The award ceremony will be held in November 2014 during the University’s Congregation.
Professor David D. Ho, a distinguished academic who has been at the forefront of AIDS research for 33 years, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Science. Professor Ho is the founding Scientific Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center, and the Irene Diamond Professor at The Rockefeller University. He has been the major driving force behind the medical breakthrough in controlling HIV in patients. His studies unveiled the dynamic nature of HIV replication in vivo and revolutionised people’s basic understanding of this horrific disease. This knowledge led Professor Ho to champion combination antiretroviral therapy that resulted in unprecedented control of HIV in patients. His team is now devoting considerable efforts to develop vaccines to halt the spread of the virus that causes AIDS. Furthermore, he is now leading a consortium of Chinese and American organisations to help address the HIV/AIDS crisis in China.
Professor Ho has received numerous honours and awards for his scientific accomplishments, including 12 honorary doctorates and the Presidential Medal in 2001 from the US Government, among others. He was inducted into the California Hall of Fame in 2006 and was named Time magazine’s Man of the Year in 1996. He has been elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Academia Sinica, Chinese Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences in the US.
Mr Raymond Or Ching-fai, Chairman and Chief Executive of China Strategic Holdings Limited, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Social Science. Mr Or is a renowned banker who started his career as a management trainee at The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited in 1972. He worked his way up the career ladder and was promoted to General Manager in 2000 and Director at the beginning of 2005. In May 2005, he took up the position of Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive of Hang Seng Bank. At present, he is also Chairman of Esprit Holdings Limited and Vice-Chairman of G-Resources Group Limited.
Mr Or is active in public service and the higher education sector. He has been, among other roles, Chairman of the Hong Kong Association of Banks in 2000 and 2003, Chairman of the Financial Services Advisory Committee and a Member of the Services Promotion Programme Committee of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council, a Member of the Risk Management Committee of the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited, Deputy Council Chairman of CityU and a Council Member of the University of Hong Kong, a Member of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference Beijing Committee and the 5th East Asian Games Planning Committee. He is currently a Vice-Patron of the Board of the Community Chest of Hong Kong and is also a Justice of the Peace. In recognition of his contributions to society, Mr Or was awarded a Silver Bauhinia Star from the HKSAR Government in 2009.
Mr Yu Kwok-chun, Chairman of the Yue Hwa Group and Chairman and Managing Director of Yue Hwa Chinese Products Emporium Limited, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Business Administration. Mr Yu graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Commerce) degree from Macquarie University, Australia in 1973 and joined Yue Hwa Chinese Products Emporium Limited in 1974.
In addition to leading his emporium, Mr Yu is committed to serving Hong Kong and mainland China. His many present public roles include being a Standing Committee Member of the 12th National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference, Founding Chairman & First President of the Federation of Hong Kong Guangdong Community Organisations Limited, Chairman of Hong Kong Federation of Overseas Chinese Associations, Standing Committee Member of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce, and Advisor to The All-China Federation of Returned Overseas Chinese. He was Chairman of the Small and Medium Enterprises Committee, Member of the Committee on Governance and Political Development of the Commission on Strategic Development, Member of the Trade Advisory Board, and Member of The Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council of the HKSAR Government, among others. He was made a Justice of the Peace and received a Silver Bauhinia Star and a Gold Bauhinia Star from the HKSAR Government in 1998, 1999 and 2006 respectively in recognition of his contributions to society.


Contact Information

Communications and Institutional Research Office

Back to top