Appointments and re-appointments on Council and Court

Mirror Fung


Two outstanding members of the business and professional communities have been appointed by the Chief Executive of the HKSAR to the Council of City University of Hong Kong (CityU) with effect from 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021.

dr chan and mr lee
Dr Eugene Chan (left) and Mr Martin Lee.


Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung, BBS, JP, is President of the Association of Hong Kong Professionals and Past President of the Hong Kong Dental Association and the Australian Doctors and Dentists Association of Hong Kong. He is an advisor to the Our Hong Kong Foundation and Vice-President of the Hong Kong Association for Promotion of Peaceful Reunification of China.

Over the years, Dr Chan has been appointed by the HKSAR Government to various advisory and statutory bodies. He is currently Chairman of the Board of Advisors of Radio Television Hong Kong, a member of the Appeal Board on Public Meetings and Procession, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Environmental Campaign Committee and the Witness Protection Review Board (Police). He also served in the past as a member of the Independent Police Complaints Council, the Independent Commission Against Corruption (Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations) and the Town Planning Board.

He was named as one of the Ten Outstanding Young Persons of the Year in 2004 for his commitment to public affairs. He was a member of the 10th Chinese Peoples' Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) of Guangdong Province and was appointed as Justice of the Peace in 2011. He was awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star in 2016 by the HKSAR Government.

Mr Martin Lee Ka-shing, JP, is Vice-Chairman of Henderson Land Group, Chairman of Henderson Investment Limited, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Miramar Hotel and Investment Company Limited, and a non-executive director of The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited.

Mr Lee is actively involved in community affairs. He is currently a Committee Member of the 13th Beijing Municipal Committee of CPPCC, a member of the Election Council for Deputies of HKSAR to the 13th National People’s Congress and was a member of the CPPCC’s 9th and 10th Guangxi Zhuangzu Zizhiqu Committee, the 9th and 10th Foshan Committee as well as the 12th Beijing Committee. He was appointed Justice of the Peace by the HKSAR Government in 2017.

He serves as a management committee member of the Hong Kong Pei Hua Education Foundation and is a member of the Court at Hong Kong Polytechnic University. In 2008, he was appointed an Honorary Director by Peking University.

Mr Lee is devoted to supporting the underprivileged and has been actively involved with charity work in Hong Kong and mainland China. He was presented with a certificate by the Clinton Global Initiative in 2008.

In addition, Mr Joseph Pang Yuk-wing, BBS, JP, has been re-appointed as Treasurer for another term of two years, while Mr Thomas Cheung Tsun-yung, MH, and Dr Peter Ho Ka-nam have been re-appointed for another term of three years, effective 1 January 2019.

Incumbent member, Dr Fung Wai-wah, and new member, Dr Peter Tse Wai-tat, were elected by staff to the Council for a term of three years, effective 1 January 2019. Mr Issac Chan Ming-yui, Acting President of the Students’ Union, serves on the Council with effect from 1 January 2019. Mr Cao Zhaowenbo, the incumbent elected postgraduate student member, was elected to serve on the Council for another term from 15 November 2018 to 14 November 2019.

In addition, the following new appointments and re-appointments for the Court in 2019 were made by the Chief Executive and the Council respectively.

New appointments

  • Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu, BBS
  • Ms Edlyn Cheng Wei-chi
  • Mr Andrew Fan Ka-fai
  • Ms Pansy Ho Chiu-king, JP
  • Ms Lisa Lau Man-man, BBS, MH, JP
  • Dr Joseph Lee Chung-tak, GBS, OStJ, JP
  • Mr Herbert Tsoi Hak-kong, BBS, JP
  • Ms Grace Yu Ho-wun


  • Mr Benjamin Kwok Chan-yiu
  • Mr Tony Kwok Man-wai, SBS, IDS, JP
  • Mr Gyver Lau Kwok-leung
  • Mr Arnold Leung Tsz‐tun


Contact Information

Communications and Institutional Research Office

Back to top