电算服务中心的角色

电算服务中心是校内法定专责提供中央电算设施和技术服务的单位,以资讯科技和网络服务来支持教学的项目包括:

1) 学科的支援

支援属资讯科技的学科,让学生修毕后,可晋身资讯科技界,或具备应用计算机的技能。

2) 电算工具的支持

利用资讯科技作为电算工具来解决科学、工程和商科等学科领域上的应用、研究和发展等活动所引起的课题。学生可使用各类资讯科技的软硬件来做作业及功课。

3) 学习、教学和研究工具的支持

支持师生使用的教学套装软件、网上学习辅助及管理软件和发表软件;亦提供可靠的互联网及入门网等网络供检索资料、交换意见和参与网上讨论等之用。

4) 行政工具的支持

确保大学各行政部门和图书馆能使用可靠及安全的资讯科技来应付发展、日常运作和管理需要。

为了确保有充足的支持,电算服务中心所担当的角色如下:

i) 设施管理

电算服务中心负责管理中央计算机设施,包括校园网络、中央主计算机、演讲室及课室的公众计算机设施、快速终端机和中心内的计算机教室。此外,中心还须因应用者的需求来评估软件及硬件设施,提出改善和购置的建议。

ii) 技术服务

电算服务中心为大学提供中央综合技术服务,包括如何应用大学计算机设施的咨询服务及提供专业意见。中心也紧随科技发展的步伐及需要,及时评估及添置合适的器材和软件,进一步服务大学社群。

iii) 资讯服务

电算服务中心的资讯需不断更新,并利用所拥有的计算机器材和软件,提供适时资讯给用者,包括使用手册、通讯、训练课程、研讨会和论坛等。中心也参与发展校内电子资讯服务。

iv) 行政数据处理系统

电算服务中心为各行政部门所使用的电子企业数据资源计划系统提供基础设施和技术支持。

csc@cityu.edu.hk

Roles of the Computing Services Centre

The CSC is officially responsible for the provision of central computing facilities and technical services to support the following aspects of computer and network within the University.

a) As a Subject of Study

Computer technology is taught either as a subject of study for future computer professionals or as general education for students' computer literacy.

b) As a Computational Tool

Computers are used as computational tools to solve problems arising from various applications, research and development activities in the areas of science, engineering, business, etc. Students may use computers as tools to do assignments and homework with various software packages.

c) As a Means of Learning, Teaching and Research

This refers to the use of educational packages and computer aided learning software, the use of computer presentation tools, and the use of networks including Internet and Portal for information retrieval, idea exchange, discussion forum, etc.

d) As a Tool for Administration

This involves the development and the use of computer software to meet the operational and managerial needs of various administrative departments and the Library.

To ensure adequate support, the role of the CSC can be identified as follows:

a) Facility Management

The CSC manages the central computer facilities including the campus network, the central host computers, public computing facilities such as computers in the Lecture Theatres, classrooms & express terminals for public access and student terminal rooms in the CSC. It also carries out assessment of facilities, both software and hardware, based on the needs of its users, and makes recommendations for new facilities as necessary for the enhancement of the existing facilities.

b) Technical Services

The CSC provides centralised and integrated technical services on a university-wide basis including the provision of consultation and advice on the use of University computer facilities. It evaluates suitable equipment and software so that it can keep pace with developing technology in order to better serve the University community.

c) Information Services

The CSC keeps updated information regarding currently available computing equipment and software, and provides timely information to its users in the form of user's guides, newsletters, training courses, seminars, forums, etc. It is also responsible for developing electronic information services within the University.

d) Administrative Data Processing Systems

The CSC is responsible for the provision of infrastructure and technical support for the maintenance of all electronic data processing systems used in the various administrative offices and departments.

csc@cityu.edu.hk