What were you doing during the 2020s Great Digital Transformation?

The Fintech Olympiad (FTOL) presents the ideas and application of financial technology in the competition, providing a chance for students to discover their talents and ideas for fintech in any industry, as our society and economy steadily transitions into a digital one. Now is your chance to make history and find your path in career and life. FTOL 2022 is hosted by the City University of Hong Kong (CityU), supported by the HSBC and the HKBCS (Hong Kong Blockchain Society).

Programme and Competition Overview

Remember to register before enrolment or submission!

Contestants are strongly recommended to attend the training sessions; there is a strong correlation, from previous competitions, between the success of contestants who have joined and those who have not. Remember to register before enrolment or submission!

Date Event or Milestone Venue
Tue 5 Oct 2021 Information Session #1 CityU Campus: Lau, 6-213
Tue 8 Oct 2021 Information Session #2 CityU Campus and Zoom
Tue 12 Oct 2021 Information Session #3 CityU Campus: Lau, 6-213
Fri 22 Oct 2021 FT 100 - Introduction to Finance CityU Campus: Lau, 6-213
Tue 26 Oct 2021 FT 101 - Introduction to Fintech CityU Campus: Lau, 6-213
Fri 29 Oct 2021 FT 102 - ABCD Technologies in Fintech CityU Campus: Lau, 6-213
Tue 2 Nov 2021 FT 103 - Applications of Fintech CityU Campus: Lau, 6-213
Fri 5 Nov 2021 FT 1TU - Basic Training Tutorial (optional) CityU Campus: Yeung, G5-314
Tue 9 Nov 2021 FT 200 - Fintech Careers and Opportunities CityU Campus: Lau, 6-213
Fri 12 Nov 2021 FT 201 - Identity and Privacy in Fintech CityU Campus: Yeung, G5-314
Tue 16 Nov 2021 FT 202 - Financial Ethics and Risks CityU Campus: Yeung, P4701
Fri 19 Nov 2021 FT 203 - Fintech Governance and Regulations CityU Campus: Yeung, G5-216
Tue 23 Nov 2021 FT 204 - Fintech Solution Design CityU Campus: Yeung, B5-311
Fri 26 Nov 2021 FT 205 - Fintech Case Studies CityU Campus: Yeung, G5-216
Tue 30 Nov 2021 FT 2TU - Advanced Training Tutorial (optional) CityU Campus: Yeung, G5-214

Contestants may participate in events that help them form teams, refine ideas, and network with professionals and fellow elite students — remember to register before enrolment or submission!

Date Event or Milestone Venue
Fri 3 Dec 2021 NFT Workshop 1 Innocentre
Fri 10 Dec 2021 NFT Workshop 2 CityU Campus: Yeung, B5-310
Mon 13 Dec 2021 NFT Workshop 3 CityU Campus: Yeung, Li, 3610
Fri 17 Dec 2021 NFT Workshop 4 CityU Campus: Yeung, B5-310
Sat-Sun 8-9 Jan 2022 Fintech Panels CityU Campus: Li, 2510
Fri 14 Jan 2022 HSBC Networking Day HSBC Main Bldg
Sat 15 Jan 2022 Enrolment Deadline for Fintech Hackathon -
Sat-Sun 22-23 Jan 2022 Fintech Hackathon (Ideathon) Zoom
Sun 23 Jan 2022 Enrolment Deadline for SSI/Julia Workshops TBC
Sun 30 Jan 2022 Submission Deadline (Lightning Round)
Fri 11 Feb 2022 SSI Workshop TBC
Mon-Fri 7 Feb-25 Mar 2022 Office Hours for Finalists -
Fri 18 Feb 2022 Julia Workshop TBC
Sun 20 Feb 2022 Enrolment Deadline for Micro-Consulting Day -
Sat 26 Feb 2022 Micro-Consulting Day TBC
Sun 6 Mar 2022 Submission Deadline (Finalists) -
Sat 26 Mar 2022 FTOL 2022 Finals CityU Campus: Lau, 8-210

Some of these activities are for all participants, and some are exclusively for Finalists or Finalists who have Awards of Merit. Regardless — remember to register before enrolment or submission!

Date Event or Milestone
Sat 9 Apr - Mon 29 Aug 2022 Office Hours for Incubatees
TBC Field Trip: Blockchain Hackathon
TBC Field Trip: Blockchain Mock Trial Day
TBC Field Trip: GBA Blockchain Olympiad
TBC Field Trip: International Blockchain Olympiad
TBC Blockchain Certification Exams (in-person and online)
TBC Blockchain Certification Exams (online only)
Jul-Aug 2022 Blockchain for Fintech Certification Exams (in person and online)