助學金和費用

研究生獎學金

(只適用於政府資助的學生)

研究生獎學金為有學術貢獻的學生而設。全日制研究生在入學前,至少獲得二級甲等榮譽(或同等資歷)的學士學位或碩士學位,才有資格申請獎學金。(如學生有良好的出版記錄,可考慮豁免上述條件。)

符合資格的全日制學生,在申請研究學位課程時會自動納入申請這個獎學金。申請人無須個別申請。

獎學金通常每年續延一次。根據學生的學習進度、課程成績和所指定的學術相關職務的表現,大學將決定其來年是否能夠續得獎學金。個別院系可能會提出額外要求。

2018/19學年的獎學金為每月16,500港元(約2,115美元)。全日制碩士研究生最多可獲2年獎學金,全日制博士研究生最多可獲4年(不論其入學資格)。獎學金在每年9月會有更新結果,此更新結果適用於 已在讀學生和新入學學生。學生獎勵期不應超過學生規定的學習期限。

獎學金得獎者平均每週需進行最多10小時的教學和/或研究工作,並由各院系自行分配。未經大學批準,不得從事有薪工作。

 

研究學費獎學金

(只適用於政府資助的學生)

學業成績優異的研究生將可申請研究學費獎學金。獎學金將會以免交學費的形式發放

只有全日制研究學生才有資格申請此項獎學金。如果獲得此項獎學金,學生將免交一年的學費。獎勵期不應超過學生規定的學習期限。所有合資格的新生將在審核其學位申請的同時,一併考慮其是否能獲得此項獎學金。學生無須單獨申請。

 

會議資助

(只適用於政府資助的學生)

為了擴闊學生的學術經驗,城大提供會議資助,以支持學生參加本地及海外學術會議。撥款的最高限額為1萬港元(約1,282美元)

 

研究活動資助

(只適用於政府資助的學生)

研究生可申請資助,以在本港以外的地方進行有助其研究及相關的活動。此類津貼為每月五千港元。一般而言,在整個研究期間,最高撥款額為3萬港元(約3,846美元)

 

周亦卿研究生院入學獎學金

(只適用於政府資助的學生)

城大提供「周亦卿研究生院入學獎學金」予在本校修讀碩士或博士學位的優秀國際學生,以促進學術交流,及提高研究生的國際化水平。

獎學金包括他們在研究的第一年的學生學費和校內宿舍住宿費用(相當於約77,496港元(約9,935美元))。如獲得獎學金,上述費用將被抵消。

 

政府撥款、貸款和校外資助

(適用於所有學生)

政府和大學提供各種不同的助學金和貸款來幫助有經濟困難的學生。此外,還有各種各樣的校外資助提供予有學術貢獻或需要經濟援助的學生。

 

學費/延續費(通常在每年九月調整)

費用類型 研究模式 備註
全日制 兼讀制
政府資助的學生
學費 每月3,508港元 每月1,754港元 不設退款;在規定的學生學習期限內適用
延續費 每月877港元 每月439港元 不設退還;適用於已獲批並取得研究期延長的學生
自資學費的學生
學費 每月7,016港元 每月3,508港元 不設退還;在規定的學生學習期限內適用
延續費 每月1,754港元 每月877港元 不設退還;適用於已獲批並取得研究期延長的學生

 

本地研究生學費豁免計劃

有關本地研究生學費豁免計劃的詳情,請參閱:https://www.ugc.edu.hk/big5/rgc/funding_opport/tws.html

獎項和獎學金

周亦卿研究生院獎學金

(只適用於政府資助的學生)

周亦卿研究生院獎學金的設立志在表彰和獎勵優秀的學生。所有學生在正常學習期間,並至少已完成一年的碩士/博士學位研究課程,均可申請此項獎學金。獎學金是一次性的現金獎勵,學生將獲得學校頒發的獎勵證書。

 

優異學業表現獎

優異學業表現獎的設立目的是表揚研究學術成績優異的研究生。所有學生在正常的學習期間,並至少已完成一年的碩士/博士學位研究課程,均有資格申請此項獎項。獎勵是一次性的現金獎勵,學生將獲得學校頒發的獎勵證書。

 

傑出研究論文獎

傑出研究論文獎的設立目的是表揚和獎勵那些在相關研究領域發表了傑出質量論文並獲得成就的研究生。學校將尋找符合獎項標準的論文,並將這些論文轉發給相關部門/院系,以確認作者是否適合該獎項。在收到相關部門/院系的確認後,有關學生將可獲頒此獎。

 

周亦卿研究生院優秀博士生研究獎

周亦卿研究生院優秀博士研究獎設立的目的是表彰博士學生的傑出工作,並鼓勵高水準的研究和寫作。只有傑出研究論文得獎者才能夠角逐此獎項。得獎者將獲學校頒發獎狀及一次性現金獎勵2萬港元。

Financial Aid & Fees

Postgraduate Studentship

(Applicable to government-funded students only)

The Postgraduate Studentship is granted on the basis of academic merit. Full-time research degree students who have obtained at least a bachelor’s degree with upper second class honours (or equivalent) or a good master’s degree before admission are eligible to apply for the Studentship. (Exemption from the above may be considered if the student has a good publication record.)

Eligible new full-time students will be considered for the Studentship award as part of their application for admission to a research degree programme. Separate applications are not required.

The Studentship is normally renewed on a yearly basis. Continuation and renewal of the award are subject to satisfactory study progress, achievement in coursework results and performance in any academic-related duties assigned. Individual Departments/Schools may stipulate additional requirements.

The Studentship rate for 2018/19 is HK$16,500 per month (~US$2,115). The maximum award period is up to 2 years for full-time MPhil students and 4 years for full-time PhD students (irrespective of their entry qualifications). Studentships are subject to revision in September each year, and any revision to the rate will apply to both current and new students. The Studentship award period should not exceed students’ stipulated study period.

Studentship recipients are normally required to undertake up to 10 hours per week on average of teaching and/or research support duties, as assigned by the Department/School. They shall not engage in any paid employment without the prior approval of the University.

 

Research Tuition Scholarship

(Applicable to government-funded students only)

Candidates with outstanding academic performance will be considered for a Research Tuition Scholarship, which is in the form of an exemption of the tuition fees.

Only full-time research students are eligible to apply for the Scholarship. If granted a Scholarship, the student will be exempted from paying one year’s tuition fees. The award period should not exceed students’ stipulated study period. All eligible new students will be considered for the Scholarship award when their research degree programme applications are reviewed. Separate applications are not required.

 

Conference Grant

(Applicable to government-funded students only)

To help widen students’ academic exposure, CityU offers Conference Grants to support students to attend local and overseas conferences. The maximum grant value is HK$10,000 (~US$1,282).

 

Research Activities Fund

(Applicable to government-funded students only)

Research students can apply for funding support to undertake research related activities outside Hong Kong that are beneficial and related to their research studies. The monthly allowance is HK$5,000. Normally, the maximum cumulative amount of funding provision during the entire period of study is HK$30,000 (~US$3,846).

 

Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies Entrance Scholarships

(Applicable to government-funded students only)

CityU offers Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies Entrance Scholarships to encourage outstanding international students to undertake MPhil or PhD studies at the University with a view to promoting academic exchange and enhancing the international mix of the University’s student population.

The Scholarship covers students’ tuition fees and on-campus hostel accommodation expenses in their first year of their research studies (equivalent to approximately HK$77,496 (~US$9,935)). If granted a Scholarship, the above-mentioned expenses will be off-set by the award.

 

Government Grants and Loans and External Financial Awards/Assistance

(Applicable to all students)

The Government and the University offer various kinds of grants and loans to help students who are in financial need. Various external financial awards and forms of assistance are also granted on the basis of academic merit or financial need.

 

Tuition/Continuation Fees (normally adjusted in September every year)

Type of Fee Mode of Study Remarks
Full-time Part-time
Government-funded Students
Tuition fee HK$3,508 per month HK$1,754 per month Non-refundable; applicable to students within their stipulated study period
Continuation fee HK$877 per month HK$439 per month Non-refundable; applicable to students who have been approved for an extension of their study period
Self-financing Students
Tuition fee HK$7,016 per month HK$3,508 per month Non-refundable; applicable to students within their stipulated study period
Continuation fee HK$1,754 per month HK$877 per month Non-refundable; applicable to students who have been approved for an extension of their study period

 

 

For more information of Tuition Waiver Scheme for Local Research Postgraduate Students, please refer to: http://www.ugc.edu.hk/eng/rgc/funding_opport/tws.html

Awards and Scholarships

Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies Scholarships

(Applicable to government-funded students only)

The purpose of Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies Scholarships is to recognise and reward students who demonstrate outstanding academic performance. All students who are within their (normal) period of study and have undertaken their current MPhil/PhD studies for at least one full year are eligible to apply for the Scholarship. The Scholarship is a one-off cash award and students will be presented with a certificate of award issued by the School.

 

Outstanding Academic Performance Award

The purpose of the Outstanding Academic Performance Award for research students is to recognise students with outstanding academic performance in their research studies. All research degree students who have completed at least one full year of MPhil/PhD studies and are within their (normal) study period are eligible to apply for the award. The award is a one-off cash award and students will be presented with a certificate of award issued by the School.

 

Outstanding Research Thesis Awards

The purpose of the Outstanding Research Thesis Awards is to recognise and reward research students who have produced a thesis of outstanding quality and achievement in their relevant research area. The School will identify the theses that satisfy the award criteria and forward the cases to the relevant Departments/Schools, which will be invited to confirm their suitability for the award. On receipt of confirmation from the Departments/Schools, the students concerned will be granted the award.

 

Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies Outstanding Doctoral Research Award

The purpose of the Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies Outstanding Doctoral Research Award is to recognise exceptional work by PhD graduates and to encourage the highest levels of research and writing. Only awardees of the Outstanding Research Thesis Award will be eligible to compete for the award. Each awardee will receive an award certificate issued by the School and a one-off cash prize of HK$20,000.