If you can't read this mail, please click here: http://www.cityu.edu.hk/bulletin

No. 163 06 July 2010
Published on the first & third Tuesday of every month.


Honorary Fellows
CityU will confer Honorary Fellowships on four distinguished individuals in recognition of their significant contributions to the development of, and service to, the University. They are:

  • Mrs Stella Lau Kun Lai-kuen, Headmistress of Diocesan Girls' School;
  • Dr Raymond Leung Siu-hong, Chairman of SAE Magnetics (HK) Ltd and Chairman and CEO of TDK China Co Ltd;
  • Dr Leung Wing-tai, General Secretary of Breakthrough; and
  • Dr Dennis T L Sun, Chairman of China-Hongkong Photo Products Holdings Ltd.

The Honorary Fellow Presentation Ceremony will be held on 20 September.


Senior appointments
Professor Arthur B. Ellis, a renowned scientist and prominent academic leader, has been appointed by CityU as the Provost. Professor Ellis, who will take up his new position in September, is currently Vice-Chancellor for Research and Distinguished Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry at the University of California, San Diego.

Professor Matthew Richard Coop has been appointed as Chair Professor of Building and Construction. Professor Coop is one of the pre-eminent experimental researchers in soil mechanics. He has created a number of innovations in experimental research techniques that are used around the world, and he was awarded the Telford Prize from the Institution of Civil Engineers in the UK, the Institution's highest award for a single paper or for an outstanding series of papers.


Research grants
Two CityU academics have been chosen as recipients of the Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation for International Scholarly Exchange in 2009-10 (II) from the Asia-Pacific region. Professor Philip Ivanhoe of the Department of Public and Social Administration has received US$19,000 in the category of Conference & Seminar Grants to organise a conference on Confucianism. Dr Chan Yuk-wah, Assistant Professor of the Department of Asian and International Studies, has received US$12,900 in the category of Research Grants to conduct research on the Chinese Vietnamese Diaspora in Vietnam. The aim of the Foundation, which was established in 1989, is to support scholars and institutions worldwide in the pursuit of research on Chinese civilisation and to promote cooperation and exchange between academic organisations. 


External appointment
Chair Professor Zhang Longxi of the Department of Chinese, Translation and Linguistics has been invited to join the board of Advisory Editors for New Literary History, one of the top academic journals in the US in the field of humanities. Professor Zhang, who is also a Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Letters, History and Antiquities, will join board members from some of the world's most respected universities, including Yale University, Stanford University, University of Toronto, Johns Hopkins University and University of Paris VIII–Vincennes.


Three Year 3 students from the School of Creative Media — Vincent Chan Win-kin, Michael Cheung Pak-kei and Jazz Zhou Jia — were 2nd runner-up in the Schneider Electric Energy Efficiency Cup 2010. Their award-winning project uses smart phones to monitor power, automatically turning off lights and electronic devices. The competition provides a platform for university students to develop their interest in the area, showcase their creativity, put into practice the theories they have learnt during their education, and contribute to protecting the planet.

Evan Xu Xuyuan, a Year 3 BEngIE student in the Department of Electronic Engineering, has been awarded the 1st runner-up prize in the 2010 Amway Pan-Pearl River Delta Region Universities IT Project Competition for the Hong Kong region and the Golden Prize in the Grand Final of the competition for his project Stereoscopic Video Generation from Monoscopic Video. His project supervisor was Dr Po Lai-man, Associate Professor in the Department of Electronic Engineering. All together 51 projects from universities in the Pan-PRD region including Fujian, Guangdong, Guangxi, Guizhou, Hainan, Hong Kong SAR, Hunan, Jiangxi, Macao SAR, Sichuan, Yunnan and Taiwan were selected to join the Grand Final of the competition, which was co-organised by the Sichuan Computer Federation and Junior Committee of Internet Professional Association.


Back to Bulletin archive