HKIAS Distinguished Lectures

There will be two Hong Kong Institute for Advanced Study Distinguished Lectures in May. Professor Carl C. Koch, a member of the US National Academy of Engineering, will review theories presented for kinetic stabilisation and thermodynamic stabilisation in his talk on 17 May titled “Stabilization of Nanocrystalline Grain Size at Elevated Temperatures: Theory and Experiment”. Professor Benoît Perthame, a professor of mathematics at Sorbonne University in Paris, will discuss on 23 May equations that bear famous names to illustrate several topics from biology. His talk is titled “Some Equations of Mathematical Biology”. For more information, click here and here.

City Distinguished Lectures

Microelectronic circuits are omnipresent. We not only use mobile phones, personal computers but we are surrounded by systems whose operation depends on advanced sensors, processing systems, controllers etc. such as home appliances, cars, smart cards, smart energy systems, bio-medical equipment, smart offices, transportation systems and others. Professor Maciej J. Ogorzalek of Jagiellonian University Krakow, Poland will discuss these matters in his talk titled “Next microelectronic revolution? Heterogeneous 3D integrated nanosystems and beyond” on 24 May. For more information, click here.


The IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (IEEE AP-S) has named Professor Chan Chi-hou, Chair Professor of the Department of Electronic Engineering and Director of the State Key Laboratory of Terahertz and Millimeter Waves, as the recipient of the 2019 IEEE AP-S Harrington-Mittra Computational Electromagnetics Award for his outstanding achievements in the field. He has received this honour for his “fundamental contributions to fast solutions of integral equations using FFT with applications to scattering, antennas and interconnect structures in homogeneous and layered medium”. IEEE AP-S is recognised as the leading society in the fields of antenna, radiation, radio propagation and the interaction of electromagnetic waves in the world.

The CityU Underwater Robotics Team won the Most Innovative Engineering Award at the Singapore Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUV) Competition 2019. The winning team, comprising students from the Department of Electronic Engineering (EE), Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME), Department of Materials Science and Engineering, and Department of Marketing, was supervised by Dr Ray Cheung Chak-cheung, Associate Professor in EE, Dr Angus Wu Kwok-ming, Assistant Professor in EE, Dr Pakpong Chirarattananon, Assistant Professor in BME, and Dr Shen Yajing, Assistant Professor in BME. This year 73 teams from 16 countries joined the competition.

Under the supervision of Dr Ray Cheung Chak-cheung, Associate Professor in the Department of Electronic Engineering (EE), Hui Kam-leung and Sin Bo-chi from EE and Archit Choudhury and Tai Lok-yin from the Department of Computer Science won the Most Innovative Award in PwC Data-lympics 2019. Organised by PricewaterhouseCoopers Hong Kong, the two-day competition provided an opportunity for university students to demonstrate how data and analytics is used to address business challenges.