IAS Distinguished Lecture

This talk in the Institute for Advanced Study (IAS) series of distinguished lectures focuses on the challenging design, realisation, understanding, and implementation of new materials families for unconventional electronics. Professor Tobin J. Marks is Ipatieff Professor of Catalytic Chemistry, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Professor of Applied Physics, and Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Northwestern University. He is also a Senior Fellow at IAS. He obtained a BS degree in Chemistry from the University of Maryland and a PhD in Inorganic Chemistry from MIT. His talk is titled “How do we create and process materials for flexible, transparent electronic circuitry?” and takes place on 19 January. For more information, please visit here.

President’s Lecture Series

The development of nanotechnology in civil engineering is still in its infancy; however, the main benefits and barriers allow the utilisation of nanotechnology in civil engineering to be explored. This lecture, titled “Nano exploration in civil engineering”, will explore this important field, highlighting recent developments, challenges and potential applications in civil engineering. The speaker is Professor Liew Kim-meow, Chair Professor of Civil Engineering at CityU, and the talk is scheduled for 25 January. For more information, please visit here.

New appointment

Professor Richard Yuen Kwok-kit has been appointed Head of the Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering from 1 January 2018 to 31 August 2021. Professor Yuen obtained his PhD degree from the University of New South Wales, Australia. He joined CityU in 1988 and his research interests include fire safety and engineering, pyrolysis and combustion, and applications of computational fluid dynamics.


A team from the Department of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering won the Second Prize (Construction Safety) in the CIC Construction Innovation Award 2017 organised by the Construction Industry Council for their collaborative project “Service Robot for Repair Exterior Gas Pipe” with the Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited. The team is led by Dr King Lai Wai-chiu and Dr Luk Bing-lam. The award aims to enhance the construction industry in Hong Kong by spearheading the development of new concepts.

Three student teams from the Department of Economics and Finance (EF) and the Department of Accountancy were named Champion, 2nd runner-up, 3rd runner-up and Best Presenter in the Hong Kong Undergraduate Financial Planners of the Year Award 2017 organised by the Society of Registered Financial Planners. The champion team JEHL comprised Business Economics student Deng Yuqian, Finance students Pan Minwen and Zhan Chenkai, and Accountancy student Wei Jiaming. Deng Yuqian earned the Best Presenter Award. Two other groups from the College of Business (CB), Team Zero and Team Wolverine, were named 2nd runner-up and 3rd runner-up, respectively. Dr Stephanie Fan, Adjunct Professor in EF, advised the teams during the competition.

Wong Yiu-ting, Chan Tin-nam of the Department of Electronic Engineering (EE), Cheng Kai-hin of the School of Creative Media (SCM) and students from the University of Hong Kong teamed up to be the winner of the HSBC Safeguard App Competition. The winning project, supervised by Dr Ray Cheung Chak-chung, Associate Professor in EE, is called “InstaSure” and provides an easy-to-navigate interface for retail users to monitor and maintain their bank account’s security level. The competition aims to mobilise talent in Hong Kong to develop app-based solutions that enable customers to meet banks' information requirements in more convenient and secure ways.

Fion Chin On-ki and Cindy Fung Sin-ting from the Department of Accountancy, joined up with Law Kai-ying and Yim Ying-ting from the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences to create an award-winning advertisement, “Companionship”, an intriguing story about parent–child relationships that raises awareness about mobile phone addiction. The team was awarded Silver Prize in the HK4As Students’ Award, a competition organised by the Association of Accredited Advertising Agencies of Hong Kong (HK4As). This year the participating students were asked to generate an advertisement or advertising campaign based on the theme “Moderate Use of Mobile Phone”. There were 135 entries submitted from 16 educational institutions in Hong Kong.

A team of SCM students has won the first runner-up prize in the Disney ImagiNations Hong Kong Design Competition 2017. Members of the team include Coda Ho Hor-yeuk, Ryan Leung Cheuk-hang, Audrey Ng Che-wing and Jenny Kwan Tsz-ching.

A new release by City University of Hong Kong Press won the merit award in the 29th Hong Kong Print Awards. The book Watch out! This is my personal data privacy authored by Mr Stephen Wong Kai-yi, Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data and a practicing barrister, is based on the detailed exposition of the principles and provisions of the personal data privacy in the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance. The Hong Kong Print Awards are jointly organised by the Graphic Arts Association of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Publishing Professionals Society and Hong Kong Trade Development Council. The Awards aim to encourage local companies to strive for higher quality in their work and to foster a closer integration of the publishing concept, technology and the art of visual communication.