Honorary Fellows

This year’s Honorary Fellows are Mr Winfred Chan Hon-pun, Director of Happy Brave Trading Co. Ltd & Whitby Sun Sun Ltd; Ms Shirley Chan Suk-ling, Vice-Chairman of YGM Trading Ltd and Director of Yangtzekiang Garment Ltd; Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung, Partner of Ernst & Young; Dr Haywood Cheung, Chairman and Executive Director of Target Insurance (Holdings) Limited, Professor Michael Kotlikoff, Provost of Cornell University and Former Dean of its College of Veterinary Medicine, and Ir Dr the Hon Lo Wai-kwok, a member of the Legislative Council representing the Engineering Functional Constituency.

New appointments

Professor Gary Feng Gang has been appointed as Acting Provost with effect from 1 July 2016 until the new Provost is in post.  Professor Feng holds a substantive position as Chair Professor of Mechatronic Engineering and is also the Associate Provost (Academic Planning and Undergraduate Education). Professor Arthur Ellis, the outgoing Provost, has shown outstanding leadership during his term of office as Provost in the past six years. The University has benefited immensely from his exceptional far-sightedness in promoting the Discovery-enriched Curriculum; in steering the University’s smooth transition to the 3-3-4 academic structure; and his leadership in formulating the University’s 2012-2015 and 2016-2019 Academic Development Proposals as well as the 2015-2020 Strategic Plan. 

Dr Ron Kwok Chi-wai has been appointed as Dean of Students with effect from 1 July 2016.  This appointment is concurrent with Dr Kwok’s appointment as Associate Professor in the Department of Information Systems. Reporting to the Vice-President (Student Affairs), Dr Kwok will provide advice on policies relating to student affairs, and promote student success and development across all administrative units under the Vice-President (Student Affairs). 

Ms Lisa Kwan will assume the position of University Librarian on 28 November 2016. Ms Kwan received her bachelor’s degree from the Chinese University of Hong Kong and a Master of Library Science from Southern Connecticut State University, US.  She has extensive experience in library management and in various aspects of library operations, from acquisitions, cataloguing and multimedia services, to special library projects, IT support and building infrastructure development. 

Dr Li Xigen has been appointed as Head of the Department of Media and Communication from 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2019. Dr Li received his master’s degree in Journalism from the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and a PhD in Mass Media from Michigan State University.  Dr Li joined CityU in January 2008.

IAS Distinguished Lecture

Professor Dr Klaus von Klitzing, Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, will give a Distinguished Lecture for the Institute for Advanced Study on 28 July. The title of the talk is "A New International System of Units in 2018!? How my Nobel Prize Contributed to this Development".


Dr Tsang Kim-fung, Associate Professor in the Department of Electronic Engineering, has been awarded the IoT Heroes Award 2016 for his contributions to IoT technology and great efforts in spearheading IoT technology awareness and adoption in the local community. The award jointly presented by the Hong Kong IoT Industry Advisory Council (HKIAC) and GS1 Hong Kong was established this year. Winners were selected based on IoT innovations leadership, market impact, creativity, and industry influence.

Two teams of students were successful in the “Challenge Cup” National Competition – Hong Kong Regional Final, Hong Kong University Student Innovation and Entrepreneurship Competition 2016. The first team of students included Michelle Chan Ying-yingVicky Chik Wai-han and Iris Sin Wai-yee, all from the Department of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering (MBE), won a second place. Their project was titled “A Microfluidic Platform for Single-cell Co-culture and Characterization” and was supervised by Professor Sun Dong, Head of MBE. Another team of students comprising William Reynaldi SolichinTommy Ng Yin-ho, Wu Lin and Zhao Yiwei was awarded third place with a project titledDesign and Development of Human-Machine Interaction in Mobile Robot”, which was supervised by Dr King Lai Wai-chiu, Assistant Professor in MBE.

A team of students supervised by Dr Yanto Chandra, Associate Professor in the Department of Management came second in the same competition with a project named “Nanbor”, a combination of the word “nanny” and “neighbour”. The team comprised Chan Yin-lam and Hung Sze-wing from the Department of Accountancy, Thadine Ng Wing-yin from the Department of Information Systems, and Yeung Hoi-ying from the Department of Economics and Finance.