CityU School of Law facebook CityU School of Law WeChat
School of Law

About the School

The School of Law was established in 1987 as the Department of Law. The inauguration of the Department of Professional Legal Education in 1992 and the Faculty of Law in March 1993 marked the dynamic commitment of City University of Hong Kong to legal education. The two departments merged into one new school that was renamed as School of Law in July of 1998.

The principal objective of the School is to support and improve the provision of legal education and training in Hong Kong. The School seeks to achieve this objective through teaching, research, international publications, and specialist projects. Distinguished teachers and scholars from Hong Kong, the Mainland and abroad have been recruited over the years to achieve these goals.

The School aims to become an internationally-renowned centre for research and teaching of law in the Asia-Pacific region. As part of that objective, close links have been developed with the legal profession in Hong Kong as well as agencies of the legal system and users of legal services. Additionally, the School of Law has developed close institutional links, through our GLOBAL GATEWAY® Programme and international exchange programmes, with a variety of overseas institutions.

The University's law library is one of the finest in Asia, with an outstanding collection of Chinese and western materials. The School has a strong commitment to common law scholarship and to comparative and international law scholarship, with a special emphasis on Chinese law. The School has also developed expertise in a range of fields including commercial law, environmental law, Hong Kong Basic Law, constitutional law, criminal justice, international trade and investment law, arbitration and alternative dispute resolution.

The School offers a broad range of degree programmes:
Undergraduate and Taught Postgraduate Programmes
  • Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
  • Juris Doctor (JD)
  • Master of Laws (LLM)
  • Master of Laws in Arbitration and Dispute Resolution (LLMArbDR)
  • Postgraduate Certificate in Laws (PCLL)
  • Master of Laws (LLM) (leading to Renmin University of China award)
Professional Doctorate Programme
  • Doctor of Juridical Science (JSD)
Research Degree Programmes
  • Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)
  • Master of Philosophy (MPhil)