VTech Innovation & Sustainability Award (2021/22)


The School of Energy and Environment (SEE) is pleased to announce that the following students have received the “VTech Innovation & Sustainability Award”. The Award is established through a generous donation from the VTech Group of Companies (VTech) and is intended for students who have demonstrated exceptional performance, innovation and impact in their Final Year Project (FYP) related to sustainability. 

Award Student Project Title Project Supervisor
Champion LEE Yik Yu Green Nanobubble and Membrane Technologies for Removal of Microplastics from Wastewater Dr. Alicia AN
1st runner-up TSANG Lau Han A Bidirectional Dynamic Wireless Charging System for Mobile Robot Application Dr. Chunhua LIU
2nd runners-up GIN Ho Yin

LO Chuen Hei Samuel
Electrochemical Degradation of Refractory Substrate in Wastewater

Quick Analysis for Consumers Using a Life Cycle Perspective in Clothing Purchase
Dr. Jason LAM

Dr. Shauhrat CHOPRA
Honorable Mention WONG Sum Lok Impacts of Various Supply Airflow Rates on System Performance and Response Time of Central Air Conditioning System Dr. Patrick LEE

On 31 May 2022, the 5 selected students presented their FYP to the judging panel comprising of Dr. Allan WONG (Chairman & Group CEO of VTech), Dr. King PANG (Group President of VTech), Mr. Hillson CHEUNG (Operation Director of VTech), Dr. Patrick SIT (Associate Dean (Undergraduate Studies) of SEE, CityU), and Mr. Andrew TO (Associate Director of Development Office, CityU) at the VTech Headquarter.  A prize presentation ceremony was held immediately after the individual oral presentations.

Please join us in congratulating the awardees for their outstanding work.  SEE looks forward to further collaborating with VTech in nurturing the next generations of professionals in sustainability! 

20220531-VTech Innovation & Sustainability Award (202122)a.jpg
Back row (from left): Mr. Andrew TO, Ms. Shereen TONG (Group Chief Financial Officer of VTech),
Mr. Hillson CHEUNG, Dr. Allan WONG, Dr. Patrick SIT, Dr. King PANG,
Miss Queenie WONG (Development Officer of Development Office, CityU)
Front row (from left): Mr. GIN Ho Yin, Miss TSANG Lau Han, Mr. LEE Yik Yu, Mr. LO Chuen Hei Samuel,
Mr. WONG Sum Lok