If you can't read this mail, please click here: http://www.cityu.edu.hk/bulletin

No. 91 3 July 2007


Adjustment of staff salaries
The University Council approved at its meeting on 3 July to increase staff salary by 2%, effective 1 July 2007. The pay increase will apply to all staff serving in the University, irrespective of whether they were employed before or after the de-linking of university salaries from the Civil Service in July 2003. The latest pay rise, which takes into account of a Civil Service pay adjustment, is in addition to an across-the-board 3% pay increase offered in April 2007.

Excellent results in CERG exercise
CityU achieves excellent results in the 2007-08 Competitive Earmarked Research Grant (CERG) exercise, with 109 projects funded at HK$60.3m. CityU is ranked 4th among the University Grants Committee funded institutions in total funding awarded, an increase of 22% from last year's. Seven projects receive large grants of over HK$1m — four of them from the Faculty of Science and Engineering, two from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences and Language Information Sciences Research Centre, and one from the Faculty of Business. Six of these CityU projects are from the "Engineering" and "Humanities, Social Sciences & Business Studies" panels, out of 22 large grants funded by these two panels.


New Council composition
The CityU (Amendment) Bill modifying the composition of the University Council was passed by the Legislative Council on 14 June 2007. The Bill reduces the membership of the Council from its present maximum of 37 to 23 members. The new composition comprises the following: 15 external members; the President; the Deputy President; two staff members elected by all staff; one staff member nominated by the Senate; the Chairman of Convocation; the President of the Students' Union; and one postgraduate student elected by the postgraduate students.

Search Committee for President
Dr Cheng Lee-ming, Associate Professor in the Department of Electronic Engineering, has been elected to become a member of the Search Committee for the new President.


CityU Achievements Journal 2006
The University has recently published the City University of Hong Kong Achievements Journal 2006, following the well-received debut edition last year. This annual publication captures the awards and honours bestowed upon our students and staff and acts as a record of the excellent teaching and innovative research of our academics. Media-related coverage with guides to the reports and articles are included for easy reference.


Farewell to retiring staff
The University organized a farewell party on 22 June for seven long-serving staff members retiring this summer. Professor Richard Ho Yan-ki, Acting President, presented souvenirs and paid tribute to their dedication. The seven staff members are Mr Chan Che-ming, Semi-skilled Labourer in the Department of Building and Construction; Professor Chan Yiu-keung in the Department of Computer Science; Mr Lam Wai-chung, Senior Artisan in the Department of Building and Construction; Mr Arthur Leung Tat-yung, Director of Campus Planning; Dr Desmond O'Toole, Associate Professor in the Department of Biology and Chemistry; Professor Dhirendra Kumar Srivastava in the School of Law; and Dr Tsang Chi-fan, Lecturer in the Division of Language Studies, Community College of City University.


Senior appointments
The following staff members have been promoted to the position of Chair Professor in the 2006-07 Promotion Exercises, with effect from 1 September 2007: Professor Kwaku Atuahene-Gima, Department of Management; Professor Deng Xiaotie and Professor Jia Xiaohua, Department of Computer Science; Professor Martin Painter, Department of Public and Social Administration; Professor Michael Yang Mengsu, Department of Biology and Chemistry; and Professor Yang Tong, Department of Mathematics.


Chen Jiashu, a Year 3 student in the Department of Electronic Engineering, has been awarded an IEEE MTT-S Undergraduate/Pre-graduate Scholarship 2007 for his achievement in radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) research. He is among 10 students worldwide to receive this Scholarship, which was awarded by the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) in the US. He also won the championship in the Undergraduate Degree Group of the Younger Members Exhibition/Conference 2007, organized by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, Hong Kong.


More kudos
Dr Chan Yan-chong
, Associate Professor in the Department of Management Sciences, has been awarded a Medal of Honour by the Chief Executive. Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung and Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee, Professors (Chair) of Finance and Biology respectively, have been appointed Non-official Justices of the Peace by the HKSAR Government.

External appointments
Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung in the Department of Public and Social Administration has been reappointed a non-official member of the Executive Council for the third term of the HKSAR Government, with effect from 1 July 2007.

Professor (Chair) Stephen Cheung Yan-leung in the Department of Economics and Finance has been appointed a non-official member of the Commission on Strategic Development in the HKSAR Government for a two-year term starting from 1 July 2007.

Dr Wong Pui-kong, Associate Professor in the Department of Chinese, Translation and Linguistics, has been reappointed a member of the Standing Committee on Language Education and Research (SCOLAR) for two years, with effect from 1 July 2007.

Professor Eric Zee Yun-yang in the Department of Chinese, Translation and Linguistics has been elected a member of the Permanent Council for the Organization of International Congresses of Phonetic Sciences of the International Phonetic Association.

Back to Bulletin archive