If you can't read this mail, please click here: http://www.cityu.edu.hk/bulletin

No. 21 2 August 2004


Matching Grant Scheme
The University Grants Committee (UGC) announced the overall results of the Matching Grant Scheme (MGS), 30 July. Over the past 16 months, the eight UGC-funded institutions altogether secured more than HK$1,300 million in donations and HK$1,000 million under the MGS has been allocated for matching purposes.

The University has secured donations of over HK$57 million (excluding non-MGS cases and donations in kind), and CityU was allocated HK$45 million under the MGS. Taking into account the UGC's allocation, CityU staff brought over HK$12 million to the University through the "Turn One to Five" campaign, believed to be one of the most successful staff fundraising campaigns among the local tertiary institutes.


Deep Collaboration consultation
Departments are invited to provide input on the scope of the Feasibility Study on Deep Collaboration with PolyU. A questionnaire has been designed to collect comments and suggestions from department staff on possible areas for collaboration; difficulties that need to be overcome; and whether CityU should engage in merger discussions with PolyU at this time. The deadline for the collection of this input at programme, department and faculty levels is 20 August.

New Council Committees
As recommended by the Review Committee on University Governance and Management, the Council established two new committees:

  1. Strategic Development Committee (SDC) X Main tasks include preparing and reviewing the mission and core values of the University; working with the President on the University's strategic development including academic and campus development; and reviewing the long term overall deployment of resources, both capital and recurrent, to ensure their deployment be consistent with the strategic objectives of the University. Chaired by Mr Chung Shui-ming, Deputy Council Chairman, SDC Members include Mr Raymond Or, Mr Edward Cheng, Mr Vincent Chow, Mrs Stella Lau, Mr John Lee, Professor H K Chang, Professor David Tong, Professor David Randall and Mr Kelvin Chan (student representative). Professor Y S Wong and Professor Edmond Ko will be in attendance; Mr John Dockerill will serve as Secretary.

  2. Audit Committee (AC) X Main tasks include monitoring the executive decisions of the University management in relation to the mission and strategic directions set by the Council, and commissioning value for money audits. The AC is chaired by Mr John Lee. Members include Mr Herman Hu, Mr Karl Kwok, The Hon Lau Ping-cheung, Mr Jack Lee and Ms Marina Wong. Mr Gabriel Chan and Miss Libby Chow will be in attendance; Mr John Dockerill will serve as Secretary.


New Banner Payroll and Personal Data Enquiry System
The first production run of the new Banner Payroll System for full-time staff has been launched. To provide more Web-based information for departmental administration, a new Budget Management Function (to replace the existing Executive Information System) has been developed. For individual staff members of the University, an Online Personal Data Enquiry Function has been developed for viewing and verifying information such as personal particulars, family data, employment history and benefits. There is also a newly designed "Pay Advice" page to browse all pay components.


Senior staff appointments
Professor Ian Holliday, currently Head of Department of Public and Social Administration, has been appointed as Dean of Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences for a term of office from 1 August 2004 to 31 July 2007.

Professor C H Chan, Professor (Chair) of Electronic Engineering and currently Associate Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering, has been appointed as Dean of the Faculty for a term of office from 1 September 2004 to 31 July 2007.

Professor Edmond Ko, Vice-President for Undergraduate Education, will serve as Acting Dean of the School of Law from 1 August 2004 until further notice.

Dr Charles Chen, Associate Professor in the Department of Accountancy, will serve as Acting Head of the Department from 2 August 2004 until further notice.


External appointment
Dr Zhu Guobin
, Director of External Liaison and Cooperation Office, and Associate Professor in the School of Law, has been appointed as Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Law of the Wuhan University.


Dr Andy Chun
, Associate Professor in the Department of Computer Science, has been awarded a major software project by the MTR Corporation Ltd to design and develop an Artificial Intelligence scheduling system to allocate and manage all engineering works for MTR's six railway lines.


CityU's Centre for Electronic Packaging and Assemblies, Failure Analysis and Reliability Engineering (EPA Centre) was accredited by the Hong Kong Accreditation Service (HKAS) in June for their test method dubbed the Reliability Testing of Printed Circuit Boards. This is the third accreditation the EPA Centre has obtained from the HKAS in two years, and the first time an accreditation of its kind has been awarded to a testing laboratory in Hong Kong.


More kudos
Students in the Department of Electronic Engineering topped the IEE Hong Kong YMS Paper Contest 2004: Cheng Tsan-fung clinched the Championship in the Undergraduate Section; Mr Yum Tzs-yin and Mr Chiu Leung teamed up to win the Championship in the Postgraduate Section. In addition, Mr Yang Shing-lung, won a Merit Award, as did Mr Chin Ching-hong and Mr Liu Yangfan.


"Writing Machine Collective" showcasing works of new media artists from the School of Creative Media, is on now until 7 August at 1a Space, Cattle Depot Artist Village, To Kwa Wan, Kowloon.


Back to Bulletin archive