If you can't read this mail, please click here: http://www.cityu.edu.hk/bulletin

No. 159 4 May 2010
Published on the first & third Tuesday of every month.


Honorary awards
CityU will confer honorary doctoral degrees on Mr Chung Shui-ming, Dr Barry Lam, Dr Lee Kai-Fu, Professor Jean-Marie Lehn and The Hon Chief Justice Andrew Li Kwok-nang in recognition of their significant contribution to education and the well-being of society. The award ceremony will be held during the University's Congregation in November 2010.

Mr Chung Shui-ming, Director-General of Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong, will receive an Honorary Doctor of Social Science. Dr Barry Lam, Founder and Chairman of Quanta Computer, and Innovation Works Chairman and CEO Dr Lee Kai-Fu will receive an Honorary Doctor of Business Administration. Nobel Laureate Professor Jean-Marie Lehn will receive an Honorary Doctor of Science. The Hon Chief Justice Andrew Li Kwok-nang will receive an Honorary Doctor of Laws.


Teaching Excellence Award winners
The Quality Assurance Committee has announced the Teaching Excellence Award (TEA) winners for 2009-10 to pay tribute to distinguished teachers and to highlight the University's commitment to professional education. This year, three dedicated teachers receive the honour. They are: Dr Cheung Sai-on, Associate Professor, Department of Building and Construction, Dr Raymond Lau Yiu-keung, Assistant Professor, Department of Information Systems, and Ms Maria Jose Pareja Lopez, Lecturer, Division of Language. They will receive the honour at this year's Congregation and their names will be engraved on the TEA Plaque at the entrance of Academic Building.


Outreach seminar
"Shaping Your Future: One Day Seminar, a Lifetime of Difference", an outreach seminar organised by CityU, aimed to strengthen community ties of CityU, has been scheduled for 8 May. The Hon Leung Chun-ying, CityU Council Chairman, Professor Way Kuo, CityU President, and Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang, Chairman of China Strategic Holdings Ltd, will share their experience with over 100 Form 6 and Form 7 students. Ms Chu Fun from Commercial Radio, Mr Ringo Tam, Founder of Wisers Information Ltd, Ms Sherry Tsai, Hong Kong swimming record holder and Mr Yip Lim-sum, film director, will hold a roundtable discussion to share their views on how teenagers can maintain the momentum in their lives in face of constant challenges.


Technology Transfer Forum
The Knowledge Transfer Office will organise a CityU Technology Transfer Forum titled "Advances in 3D Technologies" on 14 May to disseminate mature technologies developed at CityU to local industries. Speakers at the forum include Professor Horace Ip Ho-shing, Acting Vice-President (Research and Technology), Chair Professor of Computer Science and Director of AIMtech Centre, and Dr Peter Tsang Wai-ming, Associate Professor of the Department of Electronic Engineering.


Young Entrepreneur Award
Three CityU students were crowned champion of the HSBC Young Entrepreneur Awards 2009-10 after beating more than 250 undergraduate teams. Kunal Parwani, a Year 3 student from the Department of Marketing, Eric Chen Zixiang, a Year 3 student from the Department of Manufacturing Engineering and Engineering Management, and Flex Yang Zhou, a Year 2 student from the Department of Accountancy, won the honour with their proposal for an innovative transgenic fish testing based on a technology pioneered by CityU.


Back to Bulletin archive