Honorary doctorates

CityU will confer honorary doctoral degrees on Professor Serge Haroche, a Nobel Laureate in Physics and Senior Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study at CityU, who will receive an Honorary Doctor of Science; Dr Joseph Lee, GBS, OStJ, JP, Chairman of Wofoo Plastics & Chemical Group, Chairman of Wofoo Foundation Limited and President of Wofoo Social Enterprises Limited, who will receive an Honorary Doctor of Social Science; and Professor Wendelin Werner, a Fields Medalist and Professor of Mathematics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH Zurich), who will receive an Honorary Doctor of Science. The awards ceremony will be held in November 2017. More details can be found here.

New faculty orientation

A series of talks aimed at orienting new hires will be delivered by senior management and faculty members at the New Faculty Orientation 2017 on 1 September. Professor Way Kuo, CityU President, will introduce the University’s strategic initiatives, while other topics such as the discovery-enriched curriculum, outcome-based teaching and learning, and quality assurance; and research and postgraduate studies will be discussed by senior figures at CityU. The talks will be followed by an evening reception with department heads, deans, faculty mentors and senior management.

Welcoming ceremony for new students

Events will be held to welcome and orient new students at the start of the 2017/18 academic year, including a welcoming ceremony and a meeting with Professor Way Kuo, CityU President, on 29 August. Other programmes cover areas such as degree requirements, course registration, university life, and finance assistance schemes. For more details, visit here.


Four faculty members of the Department of Electronic Engineering were presented awards and certificates for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the field of antennas and propagation by the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S), a highly recognised international organisation active in over 40 countries, at the 2017 IEEE International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation held from 9 to 14 July 2017 in San Diego, US. Chair Professor Leung Kwok-wa received a certificate of recognition and appreciation for his valued services and contributions as the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Antennas & Propagation (TAP) from August 2013 to July 2016. He was the first Chinese person to be made Editor-in-Chief and also the first appointed from Asia since the journal was found in 1952. Chair Professor Luk Kwai-man was presented with the 2017 IEEE AP-S John Kraus Antenna Award, the highest award in the antenna field, for his contributions to the invention of L-shaped Probe Fed Microstrip Antenna and the Magneto-electric Dipole Antenna for Wireless Communications. Chair Professor Xue Quan received the H.A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award 2017 for the paper titled “High Gain and Low Cost Differentially Fed Circularly Polarized Planar Aperture Antenna for Broadband Millimeter-Wave Applications”. Dr Steve Wong Hang, Assistant Professor, received a certificate of recognition and appreciation for exceptional performance from June 2016 to May 2017 as Associate Editor of IEEE Antennas and Wireless Propagation (AWP) Letters. AWP Letters is devoted to the rapid electronic publication of short manuscripts in the technical areas of antennas and wireless propagation.

The paper “Sidelobe Suppressed Wideband Array Antenna for 60 GHz Applications”, co-authored by Professor Chan Chi-hou, Chair Professor of Electronic Engineering; Dr Ng Kung-bo, Senior Engineer at CityU’s State Key Laboratory of Millimeter Waves; and Zhu Qian, a PhD student, was named the Outstanding Paper Award at the 2017 Cross Strait Quad-Regional Radio Wireless Conference  (CSQRWC) in July 2017 in Chenzhou, Hunan, China. CSQRWC, held annually, aims to strengthen Cross-Strait communication in the field of radio technology and promote cross-strait common development and cooperation in the field of wireless communications.

Once Upon A Time in Hong Kong, the first novel by Dr Ma Ka-fai, Assistant Professor in the Department of Chinese and History, won an award at the Hong Kong Book Prize this year. The story is based on Hong Kong’s underworld history from 1936 to 1943. The Legend of Esther Eng: Cross-ocean Filmmaking and Women Pioneers, co-authored by Dr Louisa Wei Shiyu, Associate Professor of CityU’s School of Creative Media, also won the Hong Kong Book Prize this year. This book tells the story of Hong Kong’s first female film director against the background of WWII and Sino-American relations. About 10 prizes are given out each year at the Hong Kong Book Prize from over 400 titles nominated by Hong Kong and Taiwan publishers. The prizes are selected by both a jury of over 10 writers and though internet voting. In 2017, 11 prizes were given out of 480 nominated titles.

Dr Wei’s book Wang Shiwei: A Reform in Thinking, which focuses on the life and time of Wang Shiwei, the first known victim of the Chinese Communist Party’s literary persecution, received the “Distinguished Publishing Award” in the “Literature and Fiction” category of the Hong Kong Publishing Biennial Award. This jury is composed of over ten publishing professionals from mainland China, Taiwan and Hong Kong. From over 400 titles, each of the 10 categories selected 10 works for Publishing Awards and only one for Distinguished Publishing Award.

PhD students Chi Hao-ran, Hung Faan-hei and Wu Chung-kit and research assistant Zhu Hongxu from the Department of Electronic Engineering (EE) won the second runners-up prize in the 2nd Wise Friends Competition with a project titled "Emerging Internet of Things Secure Payment System", which was supervised by Dr Tsang Kim-fung, Associate Professor in EE. Organised by BBPOS, a leading mPOS (mobile point of sale) solution provider, the competition is the first FinTech competition hosted in Hong Kong with the aim of encouraging innovation and creative thinking among the new generation of potential mPOS developers.

In addition, two teams of EE postgraduate students have been awarded the first and second runners-up positions in the IET Young Professionals Exhibition & Competition (YPEC) 2017. Liu Yucheng (MSc), Wu Chung-kit (PhD) and Zou Zijie (MSc) won the first runners-up spot with “Smart Abnormal Status Detection based on Electrocardiogram Signal”.  Hung Faan-hei, one of the winners in the 2nd Wise Friends Competition (above), won the second runners-up prize with “An Efficient Seamless Localization Scheme”. Both team were supervised by Dr Tsang. YPEC acts as a dynamic platform for young professionals from different segments to exhibit their engineering and technology innovation in project presentations and booths.

Law Man-sze and Yu Ka-lai of the Department of English won the Special Gold award, which is awarded by the Taiwan International Invention Award Winner’s Association, at the 31th World Genius Convention (WGC) from 7 to 8 July in Tokyo. Seventy-two teams from more than 10 countries took part. Their project “Hometaste”, developed with students from two other local universities, enables local people in Hong Kong to share unique home-made meals with travelers and in turn gives visitors a chance to learn more about local cuisine and customs through direct interaction.