Honorary doctorates 2016

The University will confer honorary doctoral degrees on the following persons in recognition of their significant contributions to learning and/or to the well-being of society:

• Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang Honorary Doctor of Social Science
• Mr Yeung Kin-man Honorary Doctor of Business Administration
• Professor Ada Yonath Honorary Doctor of Science

The Honorary Awards Ceremony will be held on 13 October 2016.

Innopreneurship Ecosystem

To celebrate the birthday of the CityU Innopreneurshup Ecosystem and Innovation Commons, the Knowledge Transfer Office will present some new features of entrepreneurial resources for the CityU community and our newcomers for this new academic year. Between 8 and 9 September, there will be gaming booths and exhibitions about CityU’s exclusive entrepreneurship programmes and featured start-up stories under the support of the CityU Innopreneurship Ecosystem, as well as guided tours of Innovation Commons. For more details, visit here.

Distinguished lecture

Touching upon the entire process of discovery and innovation that leads to breakthroughs in the area of engineering, Professor Thomas Kailath, Hitachi America Professor of Engineering, Emeritus at Stanford University, will deliver the next talk in the City University Distinguished Lecture Series. His talk “The Process of Making Breakthroughs in Engineering” takes place on 28 September. Professor Kailath’s research has ranged from information theory, detection and ­filtering theory to probability and statistics, matrix and operator theory. More information is here.

CityU Outreach

Professor Anthony Cheung Bing-leung, Secretary for Transport and Housing, will discuss the theme of Mobility and Connectivity at the next CityU Outreach (CUO) event, which will be held on 22 September 2016. CUO is a university-level platform established under the Academic Development Proposal 2016-19 and University Strategic Plan 2015-20 to encourage and facilitate cross-disciplinary collaborations in applied research and knowledge transfer among university members, government, business and community. For more information, please visit the CUO website

University flower

Which flower on campus best represents CityU? Students, staff and alumni are invited to show their preference by clicking the “LIKE” button for flowers shortlisted by a panel comprising students, staff, alumni and an external advisor. All “LIKE” submissions will be sent to the panel for the final decision and University endorsement. For more information, visit here.

Mid-Autumn Festival

Riddles, free fruit and mooncakes will feature at the celebratory gathering to mark the Mid-Autumn Festival on 14 September. The event is being held by the Staff Social Club and HRO. A pre-party event on making mooncakes will be held both on 9 and on 12 September. For more details, please visit the Staff Social Club website.

Julian Lee Asia One Photographic Awards Exhibition

Four awardees, Mr Chan Chun-yin, Ms Levina Chan Tsz-wai, Ms Sharon Lai Sze-long and Mr Spider Lam Pui-fung, graduates from the School of Creative Media (SCM), will showcase their work at the “422” photography exhibition, which is supported by the Julian Lee Asia One Photographic Awards, named after the late Mr Julian Lee Chi-chiu, former Associate Professor in the SCM. The awards help talented students from SCM to organise their own photographic exhibitions and showcase their creative work. The exhibition runs from 10 September to 1 October. The opening ceremony will be on 9 September at CMC gallery, Level 3, Run Run Shaw Creative Media Centre. For more information, visit here.


Mr Lai Chun-tak, a graduate of the Department of Electronic Engineering (EE), has recently received the Silver Award in ASM Technology Award 2016. The award aims to recognise and reward students with outstanding final-year projects demonstrating excellence in technology and innovation. The winning project, supervised by Professor Henry Chung Shu-hung of EE, is called “Smart Charger”. Mr Lai previously won First Prize in the Samsung Solve for Tomorrow Competition 2014 and was named the Champion of the HKIE Student Chapter Joint Institutes Competition 2014/15.

Tang Chun-man, a PhD student in the Department of Computer Science (CS), together with his supervisors Dr Yu Yuen-tak, Associate Professor, and Dr Chan Wing-kwong, Associate Professor, as well as another CS faculty member Dr Jacky Keung Wai, Assistant Professor, received the Best Paper Award for their co-authored paper titled “DFL: Dual-service Fault Localization” in the 2016 IEEE International Conference on Software Quality, Reliability and Security (QRS 2016) in Vienna, Austria from 1 to 3 August.

Qi Wen and Hermine Hovhannisyan, PhD students in the Department of Computer Science (CS), together with their supervisor Dr Wang Jianping, Associate Professor in CS, received the Best Paper Award for their co-authored paper titled “A Generic Mitigation Framework against Cross-VM Covert Channels” in the 25th International Conference on Computer Communication and Networks (ICCCN) 2016, in Hawaii, US in August.

Xie Mingying, a Year 3 student in the Department of Electronic Engineering, who teamed up with two students, Du Yuefeng and Zhang Jialing, Year 3 students in the Department of Computer Science (CS), won Second Prize in the 2016 Intel Cup Undergraduate Electronic Design Contest — Embedded System Design Invitational Contest. The supervisor of the team was Dr Tan Chee Wei, Associate Professor in CS. The competition, jointly organised by Shanghai Jiao Tong University and Intel, is held every two years, providing an opportunity for students to design a working system based on an assigned Intel embedded platform over a period of three months. Jialing was the team leader.