New Year Party 

The Year of the Monkey Chinese New Year Staff Party will be held on 17 February. There will be a buffet lunch, handicraft stalls and other celebration programmes. The event is being organised by the Human Resources Office.

Discovery Festival 2016

The 2016 CityU Discovery Festival showcases the University’s strengths in discovery and innovation, the centrepiece of its Discovery-enriched Curriculum (DEC). The Festival seeks to create the excitement conveyed by its name by sharing the remarkable discoveries of our teachers and students, revealing their individual journeys and what they have experienced and discovered, with the CityU community and promoting outstanding teaching and learning as part of the DEC. For details, please visit here.

Teaching Excellence Awards

Three exemplary teachers have been awarded the Teaching Excellence Awards this year in recognition of their contributions to raising the quality of teaching at CityU. They are Dr Yanto Chandra, Assistant Professor in the Department of Public Policy, with a joint appointment in the Department of Management; Dr King Lai Wai-chiu, Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering; and Mr David Yip Sai-on, Senior Teaching Fellow in the Department of Accountancy.

Distinguished Lecture

Neutron scattering is a powerful research tool, with applications in material sciences and engineering, physics, chemistry, life sciences, energy and the environment. This presentation will focus on the China Spallation Neutron Source, a multidiscipline platform for neutron scattering research. The speaker Professor Chen Hesheng was the Director General of the Institute of High Energy Physics of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing from 1998 to 2011 and he has been an Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences since 2005. The talk “China Spallation Neutron Source” will take place on 2 February. For more, click here.

DBA programme opening ceremony cum welcome dinner

The Doctor of Business Administration (DBA) programme jointly offered by CityU and the School of Management at Fudan University (FudanU) welcomed students of the class of 2015 at an opening ceremony cum welcome dinner on 15 January at CityU. Professor Matthew Lee Kwok-on, Vice-President (Development and External Relations), and Professor Lu Xiongwen, Dean of the School of Management at FudanU, delivered welcoming remarks at the dinner. Other guests included Professor Wei Kwok-kee, Director of CityU’s DBA (international) programme, and Professor Lv Changjiang, Associate Dean and DBA programme leader at the School of Management, FudanU.

Seminar and book launch ceremony

A seminar and book launch ceremony on the title Will Hong Kong Bounce Back under “Belt & Road” Initiative?” will be held on 2 February. Mr Herman Hu Shao-ming, Council Chairman of CityU; Mr Liang Haiming, Director of the Research Department at the “One Belt One Road 100” Forum; and Mr Lau Lan-cheong, Senior Vice-President of News & Public Affairs, Asia Television Limited, will share their insights on the development and deployment of the “Belt & Road” Initiative.


Three CityU scientists were named among the world’s top researchers by Thomson Reuters based on the highest number of articles that they have published that rank as most the frequently cited by their peers. The three influential scientists are Professor Zhou Dingxuan and Professor Daniel Ho Wing-cheong, who are both Chair Professors in the Department of Mathematics, and Professor Chen Guanrong, Chair Professor in the Department of Electronic Engineering. Professor Chen is doubly successful. He is cited in both the Mathematics and Engineering broad fields of study.

Professor Li Qiusheng of the Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering and the Director of CityU’s Architecture and Civil Engineering Research Center, has been awarded the 2016 Jack E. Cermak Medal for his fundamental contributions to applied research in wind engineering and his contributions to structural dynamics studies on major building developments in Asia and the Pacific region. The award was jointly offered by the Structural Engineering Institute and the Engineering Mechanics Institute, American Society of Civil Engineering.