Biographies of the 2017 Honorary Doctorates

Professor Wendelin Werner, a Fields Medalist and Professor of Mathematics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH Zurich), received an Honorary Doctor of Science.

Professor Werner studied at the École Normale Supérieure from 1987 to 1991 and earned his PhD from the University of Pierre and Marie Curie in 1993. From 1991 to 1997, he was a researcher at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), and from 1997 to 2013 he was Professor of Mathematics at the Université Paris-Sud in Orsay. Since 2013, he has worked at ETH Zurich. His main research interests focus on probability theory and statistical physics.

Professor Werner has been awarded many highly prestigious prizes for his remarkable mathematical achievements. These awards include the Rollo Davidson Prize, the Doisteau-Émile Blutet prize and the Jacques Herbrand prize from the Academy of Sciences in Paris, the European Mathematical Society prize, the Fermat Prize, the Loève Prize, the Pólya Prize and the Heinz Gumin Prize.

Professor Werner received the Fields Medal in 2006 for his contributions to the development of stochastic Loewner evolution, the geometry of two-dimensional Brownian motion, and conformal field theory.

In addition, Professor Werner is a Member of the French Academy of Sciences, the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, and the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences. He is a Foreign Member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences and an Honorary Fellow of Gonville and Caius College at the University of Cambridge, UK.