第九十二期

Share this article 

培育明日領袖

各位同事:

孔子提倡因材施教。與此同理,城大的使命是致力培育和拓展學生才能,創造實用知識,推動社會和經濟進步。為了實現這一使命,我們須明白學生才能的多元化,從而擴大入讀各個學科專業的人才庫,以支持社會和經濟發展。

有鑑於此,城大將於今年9月推出「城大優才計劃」這一新措施,目的在於識別、招募學業優異的學生,將他們培養成為未來的棟樑之才。計劃將為優秀學生提供更具挑戰性的學習路徑,更廣闊多元的校內與校外才智拓展活動。

計劃將為頂尖學子提供不可多得的機會,在城大世界級學者的指導下,浸潤於特別設計的課程和研究課題中。例如,透過五年制雙學位課程,學生可以修讀兩門學科領域。此外,學士及碩士學位課程則可提供更全面和具深度的學習體驗,學生可選擇在城大或海外大學修讀碩士學位。

這一計劃的成功主要取決於城大教師提供的優質教育。他們的工作成績逐漸在全世界獲得肯定。例如,在2021年網上日內瓦國際發明展上,城大學者囊括了12個獎項,包括一項評審團嘉許金獎、五項金獎、三項銀獎和三項銅獎。城大獲獎數目是香港的大學中最多的。藉此機會謹向獲獎同事和校友表示祝賀。

大學致力創新,但這是一個極其令人困惑的概念,以及難以達成的目標。然而,我們的學者在發明展上獲得的獎項反映了城大的創新與創造力,彰顯了我們在教研合一方面的能力,使城大與眾不同。

能源及環境學院助理教授曹之胤博士利用外太空作為製冷源頭,研發出一種被動輻射製冷塗料,獲得評審團嘉許金獎。五項金獎獲獎者分別是:臨床動物醫學系客座助理教授葛展榮博士;機械工程學系副教授陸洋博士、客座助理教授范蓉博士及研究助理蒲怡如女士;生物醫學系副教授姚希博士;生物醫學系副教授岳劍波博士;以及前機械及生物醫學工程學系博士畢業生王宇帆博士。這些研究人員與其他銀獎及銅獎獲獎者,都沒有辜負他們為自己設定的期望,在各自領域內取得突破。

最後,由於新冠病毒疫情仍不明朗,讓我們對接種疫苗持積極態度,共同遏制疫情流行。

郭 位
校長大學傑出教授
 

Article Background
Back to top

No. 92

Share this article 

Nurturing Future Leaders

Dear Colleagues,

Confucius advocated that a teacher should educate students in accordance with their ability. Likewise, our University’s mission statement is to nurture and develop students’ talents and thereby create applicable knowledge for social and economic advancement. To achieve our mission, we need to understand the diversity of our students’ capabilities and thereby significantly increase the talent pool entering those disciplines that support social and economic progress.

With this in mind, CityU’s new initiative, the CityU Talents Programme, will identify students with outstanding academic performance and prepare them to be future leaders. The Programme, to begin in September 2021, will engage advanced learners with more challenging study paths and a wider array of development activities both on- and off-campus. 

Fundamentally, the Programme provides a rare opportunity for the most outstanding students to immerse themselves in specially designed courses and research topics under the expert guidance of our world-class scholars. Through the dual degree programme, students can study two subject areas within five years. In addition, the combined bachelor’s and master’s degree option offers a more comprehensive and in-depth learning experience in which students can choose to study for a master’s degree at CityU or at an overseas university.

The high-quality input from our faculty is a major reason for the success of the Programme. Their research is increasingly recognised on the world stage, and so I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate colleagues and alumni for winning a clutch of awards at the Inventions Geneva Evaluation Days 2021, a virtual edition of the International Exhibition of Inventions of Geneva. They took home 12 awards, including a Gold Medal with Congratulations of the Jury, five Gold Medals, three Silver Medals and three Bronze Medals. CityU won the highest number of awards among all universities in Hong Kong.

Innovation is a goal that universities aspire to, but nevertheless it is a most puzzling concept, one that’s difficult to achieve. Yet our award-winning  inventions at the Exhibition truly reflect the innovation and creativity at CityU, as well as highlight our ability to integrate teaching and research, a feature separating CityU from the rest!

Dr Edwin Tso Chi-yan from the School of Energy and Environment received the Gold Medal with Congratulations of the Jury. He was recognised for a passive radiative cooling paint that uses the universe as a cooling source. Our five Gold Medal recipients included Dr Brian Kot Chin-wing from the Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences; Dr Lu Yang, Dr Fan Rong, and Ms Pu Yiru from the Department of Mechanical Engineering; Dr Yao Xi from the Department of Biomedical Sciences (BMS); Dr Yue Jianbo, also from BMS; and Dr Wang Yufan, a PhD graduate from the former Department of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering. Along with our Silver and Bronze Medal recipients, these researchers have fulfilled the high expectations that they have set for themselves and recorded real breakthroughs in their fields.

Lastly, as the Covid-19 situation is still unpredictable, let’s be proactive and get vaccinated to help contain the pandemic.

Way Kuo 
President and University Distinguished Professor
 

Article Background
Back to top