第九十一期

Share this article 

把握当下 时不我予

各位同事:

做为名列世界前茅的高等教育机构及国际人才之家,城大以创新、创意、研究闻名遐迩,志在贡献世界。

很高兴城大的科研再次获得世界认同。根据史丹福大学2021年的报告,逾100位城大学者在他们个别的学术领域里获列为全球排名前2%顶尖科学家,其所占大学教研人数比例之高,在亚洲大学中名列前茅。此外,城大在2016至2019年期间是香港获颁最多美国专利的大学。

随着自动化不断改变产业与工作场所,许多今日的工作不久将会被转移甚至淘汰。面对这些前所未见的社会变化,大学必须顺时应变;如果要帮助学生做好准备,迎接挑战及把握新的经济机遇,我们必须快速改变。  

矢志创新、创造知识及从事知识转移的学者是学生的最佳导师。为了积极促进知识创新,我们将加强创意学习平台的建议列入《2020–2025年策略性发展计划》,目标是把学生与外界专业人士连系起来,训练及帮助他们实现创新,协助他们初创公司。

城大于3月23日推出大型创新创业计划HK Tech 300,为此拨出5亿港元,激励有志创业的学生、校友、研究人员及其他人成立初创公司,走上创业之道。目标是在三年内协助成立300家初创企业。

在城大世界一流教研团队的指导以及合作伙伴和小区的支持下,HK Tech 300是亚洲第一个大型的大学创新创业计划,将帮助我们的学生脱颖而出,实现梦想。

把握当下,时不我予!让HK Tech 300在城大优异教师的指导下照亮天空!

郭 位
校长大学杰出教授

Article Background
Back to top

No. 91

Share this article 

No Day but Today

Dear Colleagues,

As one of the top higher education institutions in the world, known for innovation, creativity and research, and as a home to international talent, we aim at improving the world.

I am delighted that the quality of our world-class scholars has once again been recognised. According to metrics compiled by Stanford University 2021, over 100 CityU faculty members are listed among the top 2% of the world’s most highly cited scientists in their respective area of expertise. Compared to faculty size, CityU’s percentage of the world’s top 2% most highly cited scientists is among the best in Asia. CityU is also ranked first among local universities in granted US patents from 2016 to 2019.

With automation transforming our industries and the workplace, very soon many of today’s jobs will become obsolete. In light of these unprecedented societal changes, universities must change, and they must do so rapidly if they are to prepare students to meet the challenges and take advantage of new economic opportunities.  

Scholars who are committed to the pursuit of innovation, knowledge creation, and knowledge transfer are great mentors for our students. To actively promote knowledge, we listed in our Strategic Plan 2020–2025 our proposal for strengthening our entrepreneurship learning platform and community engagement. Our stated aim is to connect students with external professionals, train and help them realise their innovations, and assist them in developing start-up companies.  

HK Tech 300, our large-scale flagship innovation and entrepreneurship programme, was launched on 
23 March 2021. Altogether HK$500 million will be allocated for aspiring entrepreneurs among CityU students, alumni, research staff and others to launch start-ups and ignite their enterprising journey. We target at creating 300 start-ups in three years.

Under the mentorship of CityU’s first-rate faculty and with the support of our partners and the community, HK Tech 300 is the number one university-based large-scale entrepreneurship programme in Asia, helping our students to “venture beyond boundaries” and realise their dreams.

There’s no day, but today! Let HK Tech 300 brighten the sky under the mentorship of our outstanding faculty!

Way Kuo 
President and University Distinguished Professor
 

Article Background
Back to top