校長簡訊

校長簡訊

第八十四期

Share this article 

各位同事:

九月是非同一般的美丽月份,大地骄容美仑美奂无与伦比,预示着夏日的结束、金秋的到来。变化正在周遭发生。

今日的香港无疑充满挑战,社会动荡、新冠疫情带来前所未有的难题。值2020/21新学年开始之际,我只能象征式地欢迎各位。遗憾的是,校园内人影稀疏,因为我们尚须严格遵守控制新冠病毒的公共卫生措施。本学年第一学期的课程将主要透过CityU-Learning互动学习平台在网上实时进行,我们会密切留意疫情发展,并在有需要时进一步调整教学安排。

然而可以肯定的是,大家都会尽心尽力确保我们的优质教育维持不变。这已成为城大的标志,也正因如此,城大不久前排名突破全球前五十名,多个学系、课程及多位教授获评为世界顶尖之列。我们不仅创设了一些新学院,而且重新调整了原先的学系,以反映教育的发展,并创立了一所独树一帜的高等研究院。此外,根据《泰晤士高等教育》2020年世界大学排名榜指标,城大在全球最国际化大学排名榜位列第一,体现了城大的快速发展。

我们强调教研合一,培养出具备独立思考能力的新一代年轻人,他们勇于从事自己选定的研究,创造新知、造福社会。

大具备不同跨学科背景的顶尖教授正连手对抗病毒。待到疫情缓和之后,一切都将恢复正常。

同样重要的是,城大重视包容,尤其是在这一困难时期。我们主张个人可以拥有不同意见,欢迎定期交流,并鼓励分享不同看法。让我们在任何时候都尊重不同观点,欣赏多元化赋予的力量!

与此同时,保重身体、佩戴口罩,以防传染病毒。


郭 位
校长大学杰出教授

Back to top

From the President's Desk

From the President's Desk

No. 84

Share this article 

Dear Colleagues,

September is a beautiful month like no other and earth has not anything to show more fair. It is when the summer ends and the autumn begins. Change is all around.  

There is no doubt that this era in Hong Kong’s history has been enormously challenging. The social unrest and Covid-19 have created unprecedented difficulties. As I extend a warm welcome to you all at the start of the 2020/21 academic year, it will be more in a figurative sense. Regrettably, we won’t see too many faces on campus since we are still conforming strictly to public health measures concerning the virus. While most classes in Semester A will be delivered online through our real-time, interactive CityU-Learning platform, we will pay close attention to the pandemic and may further adjust teaching and learning arrangements if required.   

However, I am sure I can still count on you to guarantee the high quality of education that is becoming the signature of the CityU brand and that recently saw us break into the top 50 universities worldwide and several of our departments, professors and programmes being rated among the most elite. We have also established exciting new colleges and schools, revamped our departments to reflect advances in education, and founded a special institute for advanced study. Not only that, we are the most international university in the world, according to data from Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2020, reflecting rapid advancement of CityU. 

Our focus on the integration of teaching and research allows us to nurture a new generation of young independent thinkers who are ready to undertake their own research and create new knowledge for the benefit of society.

Some of our best professors are working from a multiplicity of interdisciplinary backgrounds on how to combat the virus. Once the pandemic has abated, life will return to normal. 

Also important at CityU is tolerance, particularly at this difficult juncture. We welcome variety and breadth, regular exchange, and encourage the sharing of ideas. Let us respect at all times different viewpoints and appreciate that diversity is strength!

In the meantime, stay safe and wear a mask to prevent the transmission of the virus.


Way Kuo
President and University Distinguished Professor

Back to top