Showing 1 to 6 of 6 results
"Each city needs its own cultural positioning," Visiting Professor Dr Lung Yingtai, an influential Chinese writer of international stature and former Director of Taipei's Cultural Affairs Bureau, said. "Culture is not just about dancing and singing. It is an industry that forms an important part of a country's overall strength," she told more than 20 reporters in a press conference held at CityU, 27 August.
A base station antenna project presented by Mr Steven Yang at the Institution of Electrical Engineers in Hong Kong (IEE) in the Young Members Section (YMS), on 27 July, has won him the championship in the undergraduate category. Other CityU students who received prizes in the event include Mr Liu Yang Fan and Mr Kenji Yum, who clinched the championship in the postgraduate division with their group project on compact microstrip resonant cells. Mr Francis Kwong was the first runner-up.
On 29 July, when Ng Cheuk-wah and Hui Kit-no, two information technology majors, presented their supply management software in Shenzhen at Astec Electronics Co Ltd, a partner in CityU's Industrial Attachment Scheme (IAS), they got a unanimous thumbs-up. Astec's senior management expressed keen interest in using as well as selling the product.
Golden trophy in hand, Francis Kwong, BSc (Hons) from the Department of Computer Science (CS), grinned from ear to ear as he stood before the photographers. On 27 July, his four years of enthusiastic study cumulated in a surprising feat — winning First Runner-up at the Institution of Electrical Engineers Hong Kong (IEE) Young Members Section (YMS) Contest 2003.
Representing Hong Kong in the 37th WorldSkills Competition held 19-22 June in Switzerland, CityU BEng (Hons) graduate, Mr Steward Yeung achieved the status of "Excellent," following quickly on the heels of becoming Champion in the Hong Kong Youth Skill Competition organized by the Vocational Training Council (VTC) in 2002.
CityU will confer honorary degrees on four distinguished individuals at its 18th Congregation on 12 November, in recognition of their contribution to knowledge, to the development of the University and to the well-being of society. The recipients are:

Contact Information

Communications and Public Relations Office

Back to top