Office of Education Development and Gateway Education

2014/15 Onwards

Gateway Education Requirements (2014/15 Onwards)

Students are required to take 30 credit units of GE courses in the 4-year curriculum starting in the academic year of 2014/15.

University Requirements: 9 credit units

Distributional Requirements: 12 credit units from 3 areas (minimum 3 credit units from each area)

College/School-specified Requirements: 9 credit units

College/School College/School-specified courses:
College of Business Students are required to choose college elective courses from at least three subject areas.
[More information]
College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Students are required to take at least three courses from the list of College-specified courses.
[More information]
College of Science and Engineering Students are required to take mathematics and computing courses; or take courses specified by individual majors based on students' academic background.
[More information]
College of Veterinary Medicine and Life Sciences Students are required to take the College-specified courses.
[More information]
School of Creative Media Students are required to take the School-specified courses.
[More information]
School of Energy and Environment Students are required to take the School-specified courses.
[More information]
School of Law Students can choose GE courses, minor, or Law electives.
[More information]

1Students whose entry qualification in English falls below Level 4 in HKDSE English Language OR Grade D in HKALE AS-level Use of English are required to complete the 6-credit EL0200 English for Academic Purposes course prior to taking the above GE English courses. The credits earned from taking EL0200 will not be counted towards the minimum credit units required for graduation and will not be included in the calculation of the cumulative grade point average (CGPA)

GE Requirements Advanced
Standing I
(Note 1)
Standing II
(Note 2)
University Requirements English University English and Discipline-specific English
6 credit units
Discipline-specific English
3 credit units
Chinese Civilisation – History and Philosophy 3 credit units Not compulsory requirement
Distributional Requirements A minimum of 3 credit units from each of the three distributional areas below:

Area 1: Arts and Humanities
Area 2: Study of Societies, Social and Business Organisations
Area 3: Science and Technology
6 credit units 3 credit units
College/School-specified Requirements 6 credit units 6 credit units
Total 21 credit units 12 credit units

Note 1: For students with recognised Advanced Level Examinations or equivalent qualifications.
Note 2: For Associate Degree/Higher Diploma graduates admitted as senior-year intake students.