Progress in and Prospectives for Nanotechnology: From Fundamental Research to Application

Date: 21 November 2012
Speaker: Prof. Bai Chunli

Speaker Bio

Prof. Bai Chunli

President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences

Professor Bai Chunli, President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), is a well-known chemist and leading scientist in nanoscience. His research areas include the structure and properties of polymer catalysts, X-ray crystallography of organic compounds, molecular mechanics and EXAFS research on electro-conducting polymers. In the mid-1980s, he shifted his research to the fields of scanning tunneling microscopy and molecular nanotechnology. He has a long list of scientific publications and has won more than a dozen prestigious awards and prizes at the national, ministerial and provincial levels.

Professor Bai has been newly elected as the President of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS) in September 2012, and will start his term from January 2013. He was Director of the Academic Division of Chemistry, CAS, and the Founding Director of the China National Center for Nanoscience and Technology. He was appointed Vice-President of CAS in 1996, Deputy Vice-President in 2004 and President in 2011. He is a member of CAS; a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Sciences; a Foreign Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters, Pakistan Academy of Sciences, and Mongolian Academy of Sciences; a member of the German National Academy of Sciences and Engineering; and Honorary Fellow of the UK Royal Society of Chemistry and Indian Academy of Sciences. He holds honorary doctorates from more than 10 universities in the US, UK, Russia, Australia, Sweden and Denmark. Professor Bai is also Honorary President of the Chinese Society of Micro-Nano Technology, Chief Scientist for the National Steering Committee for Nanoscience and Technology, and President of the Graduate University of CAS. In addition, he is a member of the Central Coordination Group for Talent Work, National Education System Reform Leading Group and the 12th Five-Year Plan National Economic and Social Development Expert Group, and Deputy Director of the National Science and Technology Award Committee.