城大運動中心事件調查委員會報告的回應

各位同事、同學及校友:

背景

香港城市大學(城大)校長於2016年5月23日責成成立九人調查委員會,調查 5月20日城大胡法光運動中心內的陳大河綜合會堂(運動中心)屋頂倒塌事件始末。

調查委員會現已完成調查,並於2016年6月6日向大學提交調查報告。校長及其管理團隊研究了報告,並決定於6月10日公佈這份調查報告以及大學對調查報告的回應。

(備註:基於法律及私隱考慮,部分資料在公開報告中已被遮蓋。)

調查報告結果及結論

經過仔細研究及討論,大學接受報告中臚列的主要結果和建議。大學尤其注意到調查委員會對運動中心屋頂綠化工程的下述觀察與意見:

  1. 有關合約文件均按行內慣例起草,沿用「設計與建造」合約,明確訂列承建商的責任;
  1. 合約招標和批授的執行過程似符合程序,沒有發現異常情況;
  1. 校園發展及設施管理處完全依賴中標公司及其施工隊按照合約規定施工及履行責任。

大學也同意調查委員會有關導致屋頂倒塌因素的分析與結論:

  1.  (原)屋頂結構的設計、建造與保養不大可能是導致屋頂倒塌事件的主要因素;
  1. 運動中心屋頂綠化工程的整體設計,尤其是承重評估(加上明顯使用了不正確的數據/信息),很可能是導致屋頂倒塌的主要及關鍵因素;
  1. 雨水、用於屋頂綠化工程的泥土,以及屋頂綠化系統中排水系統的功能,也可能是導致屋頂倒塌的重要因素。

大學對調查委員會建議的回應

根據調查結果及結論,大學贊成調查報告中建議的一系列跟進措施。為進一步加強校園安全及防範未然,大學將:

  1. 尋求專業意見,對屋頂倒塌可能負有責任的校外人士提出法律訴訟,其中包括(但不限於)調查報告列明的人士與機構;
  1. 啟動內部紀律程序,查明校園發展及設施管理處負責管理屋頂綠化工程項目的員工處理不當或違紀行為的嚴重程度,並判斷相應懲處;
  1. 徹底評核校園發展及設施管理處的組織架構和運作,確保該處在執行任務及履行責任時達到最高安全標準;同時要求校園發展及設施管理處加強程序管理,以便在未來所有工程中有能力覆核認可人士提供的資料和建議,並在必要時向第三方專家徵詢獨立的專業意見;
  1. 繼續對大學所有綠化屋頂的整體結構及建築工程做徹底評估,以確保安全,並定期檢查校園所有大樓及基礎設施的結構,確保結構堅固完善;
  1. 在調查委員會建議以外,評核與加強現行大學緊急事件管理之機制,以增強校園風險意識,及時協調回應及溝通,增強跨部門合作,及方便師生報告校園內可能危及安全的隱患和風險。

未來路向

希望所有城大社群都知道,大學的學術體系一切如常,全面運作,且進展良好。此外,我們正探討應變方案,尋找其他運動場地及會場,應付原由運動中心提供的設施,以及舉辦畢業典禮等重要活動的場地。憑藉眾多關懷城大人士的善意和支持,我們將在適當時候公佈建造一幢設計先進大樓的計劃。新大樓將不僅填補於事件中暫時失去的運動設施,更有助提升我們的整體學術實力。

寶貴的教訓

大學歷來把校園安全置於首位,將來也不會鬆懈。與此同時,城大仍會致力推廣持續發展與校園綠化。這些是大學2010-2015及2015-2020策略發展計劃中指明的核心目標,並獲得全校上下的支持和肯定。然而正如調查委員會在報告所指,不幸的是,「目前屋頂綠化缺乏清晰的安全條例/指引規管。」

我們注意到政府已視檢討有關指引和條例為首要任務。在此過程中,城大將為消除灰色地帶及確立標準等事宜做貢獻,以確保改善及增強綠化工程的安全。

城大完全贊同調查報告的結語,提醒「我們所有人——城大、香港政府、立法者、建造業、園境師以及香港的綠化文化推廣者——需要從這一事件中汲取教訓,並記取屋頂綠化的決定應該建築在結構安全的基礎之上。」

對於城大,5月20日運動中心屋頂倒塌是一件非常不幸、而且教訓沉重的事件。大學將盡一切努力,力保所有建造工程和基礎設施都符合最高安全標準和所有法例要求。我們將繼續定期檢測校園內的建築物,並對校園內所有設施進行預防保養,以提升和確保安全。

鳴謝

大學在此衷心感謝調查委員會完成調查報告,並感謝委員會成員的寶貴貢獻和支持,以及為調查工作提供協助的同事和信息提供者。

我們還要感謝於5月20日迅速應對警報系統警示並協助及時疏散現場所有人的城大職員,以及事件後校園內相互配合及竭力跟進各事務的不同單位和部門。你們的幫助確保大學仍是一個安全的工作及學習場所。我們也感謝消防處、警務處、教育局及屋宇署為善後工作提供協助。

最後,我們希望向所有教職員、學生、校友、校董會及顧問委員會成員、捐贈者、大學友好,以及媒體表達敬意,感謝你們給予的支持、建議和關心。

(中、英文版本之間如有任何歧義,概以英文版本為準。)

調查報告可在此下載(只提供英文版本)

傳訊及公關處
2016年6月10日

University Response to the Report of the Investigation Committee for the CityU Sports Hall Incident

Dear colleagues, students and alumni,

Background                                                                   

A nine-person Investigation Committee (IC) was appointed by the President of City University of Hong Kong (CityU) on 23 May 2016 to conduct an investigation into the collapse of the roof structure of the Chan Tai Ho Multi-purpose Hall (the Sports Hall) inside the Hu Fa Kuang Sports Centre at CityU on 20 May 2016. 

The IC completed its investigation and submitted an investigation report to the University on 6 June 2016. The President and his management team studied the report and decided to release both the IC report and this response to the report on 10 June 2016.

(Remark: Some information in the released report was redacted due to legal and personal privacy considerations.)

Findings and Conclusions of the IC

Having studied and considered carefully the IC report, the University accepted its major findings and recommendations. In particular, the University notes the following observations and findings made by the IC regarding the implementation of the roof greening project of the Sports Hall:

  1. the Contract document was prepared in alignment with normal industry practice and typical of a “Design and Build” contract which explicitly defines the responsibility of the Contractor;
  1. the procedures, from tendering to contract award, appeared to be in order, and no irregularities were identified;
  1. Campus Development and Facilities Office (CDFO) had relied solely on the Contractor and its Project Team to perform the duties and fulfill the responsibilities under the Contract. 

The University also accepts the analyses and conclusions of the IC regarding the possible factors contributing to the collapse of the roof:

  1. the design, construction and maintenance of the (original) structural roof are unlikely to be key contributing factors leading to the Incident of the roof collapse;
  1. the overall design of the roof greening works of the Sports Hall, especially the loading assessment (coupled with apparent use of incorrect data/information), is likely the primary and core factor contributing to the collapse of the roof;
  1. the impact of rain, the soil materials used for the roof greening works, and the efficiency of the drainage system of the green roof system may also be important factors contributing to the collapse of the roof.

University Response to the Recommendations of the IC

On the basis of the findings and conclusions in the IC report, the University welcomes the series of follow-up actions recommended in the report. To further enhance campus safety and prevent similar incidents in the future, the University will:

  1. seek professional advice to start legal proceedings against the external parties that appear to be responsible for the collapse of the roof, including but not limited to those identified in the IC report;
  1. initiate disciplinary proceedings to ascertain the degree of breach of standards of behaviour or misconduct by certain members of CDFO staff managing the roof greening project, and to determine any disciplinary actions as appropriate;
  1. conduct a thorough review of the organisational structure and operations of CDFO to ensure the Office’s effectiveness in discharging all its duties and responsibilities at the highest safety standards; and require CDFO to strengthen its procedures to be able to confirm the data and advice provided by Authorised Persons for all future projects, and consult independent and professional opinions from third-party experts if necessary;
  1. continue with the thorough assessment of the structural integrity of all the green-roof areas and construction works of the University to ensure safety, and conduct regular structural inspections for safety and structural soundness of all campus buildings and infrastructures; and
  1. review and strengthen, beyond the IC’s recommendations, the current institutional critical incident management set-up to promote risk awareness on campus, coordinate timely response and communication, enhance cross-departmental cooperation, and facilitate reporting by staff and students of suspected safety-related threats or risks on campus.

The Way Forward

We would like all members of the CityU community to know that the University’s academic enterprise is fully operational and thriving. It’s business as usual. Moreover, contingency plans are now being explored for alternative venues for sports activities and major events such as Congregation, which has used the Sports Hall as a venue. With the goodwill and staunch support of our many stakeholders, CityU will announce in due course plans for a state-of-the-art building that will not just replace the sports facilities temporarily lost in the incident but also enhance our overall academic capabilities. 

Valuable Lesson for All

Campus safety is, and always will be, the top priority of the University. At the same time, CityU is committed to the promotion of sustainability and a green campus. These are core objectives identified in the University Strategic Plans 2010-2015 and 2015-2020, which were endorsed by the campus community. Unfortunately, however, as pointed out by the IC, “roof greening currently lacks clear safety regulations/guidelines.”   

We acknowledge the government’s effort to review, as a top priority, its current guidelines and regulations. CityU will contribute, in the process, to address issues related to grey areas and to clarify standards, with a view to improving and enhancing the safety of green projects.  

CityU fully agrees with the concluding remarks of the IC which remind us that “we all – CityU, the Hong Kong Government, legislators, the construction industry, landscapers and promoters of green culture in Hong Kong – need to learn from this Incident and take note that decisions concerning roof greening should be premised upon the priority of structural safety.”

The collapse of the structural roof of the Sports Hall on 20 May is a highly regrettable incident and a serious lesson for CityU. The University will make every endeavour to ensure compliance with the highest safety standards and all requirements of the law for our building works and infrastructures. We will continue to conduct regular structural inspections of buildings on campus and promote preventive maintenance of all our facilities to enhance and ensure safety. 

Acknowledgements

The University wishes to record its sincere gratitude to the IC for the investigation report, and thank the members for their valuable contributions and assistance, and the colleagues and information providers who helped facilitate the investigation work. 

We thank the CityU staff members who promptly responded to the activated alarm system and assisted with the safe and timely evacuation of everyone in the vicinity of the Sports Hall on 20 May, and the various units and offices on campus for their cooperation and excellent follow-up services after the Incident, which have helped to ensure that the University continues to be a safe place to work and study. We also thank the Fire Services Department, the Hong Kong Police Force, the Education Bureau and the Buildings Department for their assistance in the aftermath of the Incident.

Lastly, we wish to convey our appreciation to all our staff, students, alumni, the University Council and Court, donors, friends in the community, and the media for their support, suggestions and concern.

(The Investigation Report can be downloaded from here.)

Communications and Public Relations Office
10 June 2016