HKIAS lecture

The discovery of high-temperature superconductivity in normally insulating cuprate ceramics has ushered in a new quest for unconventional superconductors that has led to iron chalcogenides. Understanding this new family of high temperature superconductors demands the utilisation of the whole weaponry of condensed matter physics. Chair Professor Wei Boa of the Department of Physics at CityU will deliver an online talk on this topic titled “Lattice, Charge, Spin and Orbital Aspects of the Iron Chalcogenide Superconductors” on 12 May for the Hong Kong Institute for Advanced Study (HKIAS) Distinguished Lecture Series. More information is available here.

Innovative CityU-Learning Awards 2020/21

The winners of these awards have been recognised for their innovative approaches to enhancing the quality of online teaching and online assessment in 2020/21.

For Semester A 2020/21, the winners were Dr Calvin Keung Chung-wai, Instructor I in the Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering, with An iBIM-based digital pedestal supporting synchronous and asynchronous e-learning”; and Dr Ron Kwok Chi-wai, Associate Professor in the Department of Information Systems, for “The use of Industry-collaborated Learn-from-Home (LfH) approach with real business dataset and cloud-based Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) application to inspire student creation of innovative e-Business proposals during the Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Pandemic Lockdown”.
For Semester B 2020/21, the winners were Dr Max Hattler, Assistant Professor in the School of Creative Media, for “Fully Online Flipped Classroom for Abstract and Experimental Animation”; Ms Tiffany Pang Tsz-yin, Instructor II in the Chan Feng Men-ling Chan Shuk-lin Language Centre, for “VR in everyday language classroom: A practical approach to language learning in a digital environment”; and Dr Denis Yu Yau-wai, Associate Professor in the School of Energy and Environment, for “Allowing students to put theories into practices to examine the physical world by “bringing” hands-on experiments and projects to their home”.

Click here for more about the Innovative CityU-Learning Awards.


Professor Tan Cheng-han, Dean and Chair Professor of Commercial Law at the School of Law, has been elected president of the Asian Law Schools Association (ALSA), an association of 22 leading Asian law schools coming together to uphold and advance excellence in legal education and scholarship in Asia through meaningful collaboration.  

Two teams of students and graduates from the Department of Electrical Engineering (EE) have been selected to join the Cyberport University Partnership Programme (CUPP) 2020/21 and awarded HK$100,000 each in seed funding to develop their start-up projects. The first team comprised Nikil Senthil Kumar (Computer and Data Engineering (CDE) student), Mr Yim Kwok-woon (CDE Graduate 2021), Ajay Rajnikanth (CDE student) plus a student from HKUST for the project “Intersect” supervised by Dr Ray Cheung Chak-chung, Associate Professor in EE, and Dr John Lee Sie-yuen, Associate Professor in the Department of Linguistics and Translation. The second team comprised Mr Lau Kin-yam (Information Engineering (INFE) Graduate 2020), Mr Chu Tsz-kit (INFE Graduate 2020) and a student from PolyU for a project called “ConNest” supervised by Dr Cheung as well as by a scholar from PolyU.